Nuclear Power and Secure Energy Transitions: From Today's Challenges to Tomorrow's Clean Energy Systems

Sign In

Create an account

Create a free IEA account to download our reports or subcribe to a paid service.

Join for freeJoin for free

Coal Information: Overview

Comprehensive historical review and current market trends in the world coal sector

About this report

Coal Information provides a comprehensive review of historical and current trends in the world coal sector, covering coal production, consumption and trade.

Detailed and comprehensive coal balances – physical and energy – include figures on supply, demand, trade, production and consumption by end-user for each OECD country individually and for the OECD regions, and are provided by coal product and main aggregates. Trade data are reported extensively by origin and destination, and also by product. Calorific values by coal type and flow are also provided for all the time series for OECD countries and aggregates.

Coal Information is one of a series of annual IEA statistical publications on major energy sources; other reports are Oil Information, Electricity Information, Natural Gas Information and Renewables Information.
Notes and references
  1. Primary coal includes anthracite, coking coal, lignite, sub-bituminous coal and other bituminous coal, and steam coal includes anthracite, sub-bituminous coal and other bituminous coal.

  2. Data for 2019 are provisional

  3. Colombia joined the OECD in April 2020. However, data for Colombia are not included in the OECD aggregates in this edition. OECD includes Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

  4. China refers to People’s Republic of China unless otherwise specified.

  5. European Union refers to EU28, which includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. Data for the European Union start in 1990.