Sign In

Error
Error
Create an account

Create a free IEA account to download our reports or subcribe to a paid service.

Join for freeJoin for free

全球能源危机

此次危机的原因何在,全球能源市场如何影响了我们的生活,政府又将采取哪些措施

Global Energy Crisis Cover Image Abstract Power Plant At Sunset
当前全球能源危机的情况如何?

在疫情后经济飞速反弹等多种因素的作用下,2021年能源市场开始收紧。2022年2月俄罗斯入侵乌克兰之后,局势急剧升级为一场全面的全球能源危机。天然气价格创下历史新高,部分市场的电价也因此攀升至历史高位。油价达到2008年以来的最高水平。 

能源价格偏高助长了高通胀,造成许多家庭陷入贫困,迫使部分工厂减产甚至停工,减缓了经济发展,使一些国家走向严重衰退。欧洲天然气供应以往依赖俄罗斯,因此尤为脆弱,今冬或面临天然气限供;与此同时,许多新兴经济体能源进口开支剧增,燃料短缺。

虽然当前的能源危机与1970年代的石油危机有相似之处,但也有重要区别。此次危机涉及各类化石燃料,而1970年代的价格冲击主要限于石油——当时全球经济对石油的依赖度比现在高很多,对天然气的依赖程度则较低。如今,世界经济整体上的相互联系比50年前紧密许多,放大了危机影响。因此,此次能源危机堪称首次真正的全球能源危机。

欧洲的一些天然气密集型制造企业因无力继续经营,已经减产,而中国的部分工厂失去了电力供应。在新兴和发展中经济体,能源和食品在家庭预算中的比例已经较大,偏高的能源费用增加了极端贫困,导致在实现普遍和可负担能源供应方面出现倒退。即使在发达经济体,价格上涨也影响到脆弱家庭,并造成巨大的经济、社会和政治压力。

一些人认为气候政策导致了近期能源价格上涨,但这一论点缺乏论据支持。事实上,加大清洁能源和技术供给对消费者有保护作用,并在一定程度上减轻燃料价格上行压力。

Evolution of key regional natural gas prices, June 2021-October 2022

打开expand

俄罗斯入侵乌克兰将欧亚天然气价格推上新高

此次全球能源危机的原因何在?

2021年以来能源价格持续攀升,原因包括经济迅速复苏,世界各地发生天气状况,有关维护工作因疫情推迟,以及油气企业和出口国之前决定减少投资。2021年,在俄罗斯入侵乌克兰的数月之前,俄罗斯开始减少对欧洲的天然气供应。以上各项因素导致能源供应紧张。

而俄罗斯进攻乌克兰则造成情况显著恶化。美国、欧盟对俄罗斯实施一系列制裁,许多欧洲国家宣布有意完全停止进口俄罗斯天然气。与此同时,俄罗斯日益减少供给甚至关停出口管道。俄罗斯是世界化石燃料出口第一大国,出口量远高于其他国家,也是对欧洲而言特别重要的化石燃料供应国。2021年,欧盟消费的能源总量中有四分之一来自俄罗斯。

欧洲寻求取代俄罗斯天然气,高价竞拍美国、澳大利亚和卡塔尔的船载液化天然气,推高了价格,分流了亚洲传统客户的液化天然气供应。由于电力销售价格常取决于天然气,电价随之飙升。液化天然气生产和进口企业竞相新建基础设施,以期增加国际交易量,但这些基建项目造价不菲,需要多年才能上线。

美国、许多欧洲国家及其亚洲盟国表示不再购买俄罗斯石油,随后国际贸易路线相应调整,石油价格在初期飙升。鉴于制裁和保险相关风险,有些货运商拒绝运送俄罗斯石油。即使油价极高,但由于近年来石油领域投资匮乏,许多大型石油生产企业仍无法增加供给来满足不断增长的需求。如今油价虽有回落,但前景并不明朗,因为今年晚些时候欧洲可能对俄罗斯加大制裁。

为应对此次危机正在采取哪些措施?

一些政府希望通过直接援助,或者限制消费者价格并向能源供应企业支付差价,来缓解能源危机对用户和企业的冲击。但是,许多国家的通胀远高于目标水平,并且新冠疫情期间的紧急支出造成大额预算赤字,因此危机应对能力不及2020年初。通胀加剧引发多国短期利率上升,减缓了经济增速。

欧洲各国争相从阿尔及利亚、挪威和阿塞拜疆等其他天然气出产国进口更多天然气。有些欧洲国家已恢复或扩大煤电,另一些欧洲国家则延长了原本计划退役的核电站的使用期限。欧盟成员国还出台了天然气储存义务,并商定了今冬将天然气和电力需求减少15%的自愿目标,降需方式包括采取提效措施、加大使用可再生能源和提供提效支持。

为确保石油供给充足,国际能源署及其成员国两次释放紧急石油储备,释放规模为历史最大。国际能源署通过2022年3月1日和4月1日的两项决定,协调从公共库存或行业义务库存中紧急释放约1.82亿桶石油。在此基础上,一些国际能源署成员国还自主增加了公共库存释放量,从而使2022年3月至11月期间的释放总量达到2.4亿多桶。

此外,国际能源署还发布了可以立即发挥影响的减少石油使用行动计划、欧洲减少对俄罗斯天然气依赖的规划,以及普通公民减少用能的做法建议。

俄罗斯入侵乌克兰引发了对能源政策和优先事项的重新评估,对几十年来基础设施和投资决策可行性的质疑,以及国际能源贸易格局的深刻调整。许多国家曾将排放较低的天然气作为高污染化石燃料过渡到可再生能源的关键“跳板”,但现今的能源危机使人们对天然气的可靠性产生了怀疑。


此次危机或可加速推广风能、太阳能等更加清洁的可持续可再生能源,正如1970年代,石油危机刺激了能效、核能、太阳能和风能实现重大发展。危机还突显了加大投资天然气和电力网络基础设施、融合发展区域市场的重要性。欧盟2022年5月提出的RePowerEU计划和美国2022年8月通过的《降低通货膨胀法案》,都包含了提高能效、促进可再生能源发展的重大举措。 

国际能源署节能提示

恒温器每调低1°C,即可节约7%左右的采暖用能,一般家庭一年节省[50-70欧元]采暖费。恒温器始终设定在感觉舒适的最低温度,在室内穿着保暖衣物。使用可编程恒温器,温度在睡眠期间设为15°C,房屋内无人时设为10°C,每年节省采暖费可多达10%。尽量做到无人或不常用房间不开暖气。 

热水器的默认设置往往高于实际所需温度。热水温度设定为50°C,可节约8%的供暖用能,节省一般家庭供暖费100欧元。
如果使用比较复杂的现代热水采暖组合式锅炉而又读不懂用户手册,可能需要请水暖工调整设置。 盆浴改淋浴,减少热水用能。如果已用淋浴,可以减少淋浴时间。热水箱和管道应进行保温处理,阻止散热。对于燃柴或颗粒的热水器,定期用钢丝刷清洁以保持高效运作。

关闭门窗,对管道进行保温处理,对窗、烟囱和其他缝隙周围进行防漏风处理,将暖空气留在室内。除非房屋很新,否则热量会通过漏风的门窗、地板缝隙或烟囱散失。用密封剂或封条对缝隙进行防风处理,每年最多可省100欧元。窗上安装紧贴式窗帘或遮阳帘,留住更多热量。闭合壁炉和烟囱通风口(除非有炉火在燃烧),以阻止暖空气通过烟囱散失。如有壁炉但从不使用,可密封烟囱以阻止热量外散。

采用新型LED灯泡替换旧灯泡,按需开灯,其余关上。LED灯比白炽灯和卤素灯更节能,烧坏的频率更低,每只灯泡每年可节省约10欧元。购买灯泡时注意查看能源标签,尽量买A级(最节能),少买G级(最低效)。最简单易行的节能方法是人走灯灭。

短途出行时,以步行或骑车代替驾车,有助于节约开支、减少排放、缓解拥堵。在可行的情况下,短途出行不开车,特别是不开大车。与邻居、朋友和同事拼车出行,节能又省钱。骑车出行不仅可以节省大量开支,还有益健康。许多政府还激励电动自行车。

乘坐公共交通 对于不适合步行或骑车的长途出行,乘坐公共交通可以减少用能、拥堵和空气污染。如果要长途出行,考虑乘坐火车而不开车。买季票,长期省钱。工作单位或当地政府可能也为购买公交卡提供补贴。提前计划行程,节省票钱,寻找最佳路线。

优化驾驶方式,减少燃料消耗:高速公路上平稳驾驶并保持较低车速,高速行驶时关闭车窗并确保轮胎气压适当。尽量避开繁忙路线,停车时关闭发动机。高速公路上时速减少10公里,每年可节省约60欧元燃料开支。以50-90公里的时速平稳驾驶也可以节约燃料。驾驶时速超过80公里时,用空调比开窗更节能。定期保养发动机,保持能效。

Sign In

Error
Error
Create an account

Create a free IEA account to download our reports or subcribe to a paid service.

Join for freeJoin for free

Global Energy Crisis

How the energy crisis started, how global energy markets are impacting our daily life, and what governments are doing about it

Global Energy Crisis Cover Image Abstract Power Plant At Sunset
What is the energy crisis?

Energy markets began to tighten in 2021 because of a variety of factors, including the extraordinarily rapid economic rebound following the pandemic. But the situation escalated dramatically into a full-blown global energy crisis following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in February 2022. The price of natural gas reached record highs, and as a result so did electricity in some markets. Oil prices hit their highest level since 2008. 

Higher energy prices have contributed to painfully high inflation, pushed families into poverty, forced some factories to curtail output or even shut down, and slowed economic growth to the point that some countries are heading towards severe recession. Europe, whose gas supply is uniquely vulnerable because of its historic reliance on Russia, could face gas rationing this winter, while many emerging economies are seeing sharply higher energy import bills and fuel shortages.

While today’s energy crisis shares some parallels with the oil shocks of the 1970s, there are important differences. Today’s crisis involves all fossil fuels, while the 1970s price shocks were largely limited to oil at a time when the global economy was much more dependent on oil, and less dependent on gas. The entire word economy is much more interlinked than it was 50 years ago, magnifying the impact. That’s why we can refer to this as the first truly global energy crisis.

Some gas-intensive manufacturing plants in Europe have curtailed output because they can’t afford to keep operating, while in China some have simply had their power supply cut. In emerging and developing economies, where the share of household budgets spent on energy and food is already large, higher energy bills have increased extreme poverty and set back progress towards achieving universal and affordable energy access. Even in advanced economies, rising prices have impacted vulnerable households and caused significant economic, social and political strains.

Climate policies have been blamed in some quarters for contributing to the recent run-up in energy prices, but there is no evidence. In fact, a greater supply of clean energy sources and technologies would have protected consumers and mitigated some of the upward pressure on fuel prices.

Evolution of key regional natural gas prices, June 2021-October 2022

Openexpand

Russia's invasion of Ukraine drove European and Asian gas prices to record highs

What is causing it?

Energy prices have been rising since 2021 because of the rapid economic recovery, weather conditions in various parts of the world, maintenance work that had been delayed by the pandemic, and earlier decisions by oil and gas companies and exporting countries to reduce investments. Russia began withholding gas supplies to Europe in 2021, months ahead of its invasion of Ukraine. All that led to already tight supplies.

Russia’s attack on Ukraine greatly exacerbated the situation. The United States and the EU imposed a series of sanctions on Russia and many European countries declared their intention to phase out Russian gas imports completely. Meanwhile, Russia has increasingly curtailed or even turned off its export pipelines. Russia is by far the world’s largest exporter of fossil fuels, and a particularly important supplier to Europe. In 2021, a quarter of all energy consumed in the EU came from Russia.

As Europe sought to replace Russian gas, it bid up prices of US, Australian and Qatari ship-borne liquefied natural gas (LNG), raising prices and diverting supply away from traditional LNG customers in Asia. Because gas frequently sets the price at which electricity is sold, power prices soared as well. Both LNG producers and importers are rushing to build new infrastructure to increase how much LNG can be traded internationally, but these costly projects take years to come online.

Oil prices also initially soared as international trade routes were reconfigured after the United States, many European countries and some of their Asian allies said they would no longer buy Russian oil. Some shippers have declined to carry Russian oil because of sanctions and insurance risk. Many large oil producers were unable to boost supply to meet rising demand – even with the incentive of sky-high prices - because of a lack of investment in recent years. While prices have come down from their peaks, the outlook is uncertain with new rounds of European sanctions on Russia kicking in later this year.

What is being done?

Some governments are looking to cushion the blow for customers and businesses, either through direct assistance, or by limiting prices for consumers and then paying energy providers the difference. But with inflation in many countries well above target and budget deficits already large because of emergency spending during the Covid-19 pandemic, the scope for cushioning the impact is more limited than in early 2020. Rising inflation has triggered increases in short-term interest rates in many countries, slowing down economic growth.

Europeans have rushed to increase gas imports from alternative producers such as Algeria, Norway and Azerbaijan. Several countries have resumed or expanded the use of coal for power generation, and some are extending the lives of nuclear plants slated for de-commissioning. EU members have also introduced gas storage obligations, and agreed on voluntary targets to cut gas and electricity demand by 15% this winter through efficiency measures, greater use of renewables, and support for efficiency improvements.

To ensure adequate oil supplies, the IEA and its members responded with the two largest ever releases of emergency oil stocks. With two decisions – on 1 March 2022 and 1 April – the IEA coordinated the release of some 182 million barrels of emergency oil from public stocks or obligated stocks held by industry. Some IEA member countries independently released additional public stocks, resulting in a total of over 240 million barrels being released between March and November 2022.

The IEA has also published action plans to cut oil use with immediate impact, as well as plans for how Europe can reduce its reliance on Russian gas and how common citizens can reduce their energy consumption.

The invasion has sparked a reappraisal of energy policies and priorities, calling into question the viability of decades of infrastructure and investment decisions, and profoundly reorientating international energy trade. Gas had been expected to play a key role in many countries as a lower-emitting "bridge" between dirtier fossil fuels and renewable energies. But today’s crisis has called into question natural gas’ reliability.

The current crisis could accelerate the rollout of cleaner, sustainable renewable energy such as wind and solar, just as the 1970s oil shocks spurred major advances in energy efficiency, as well as in nuclear, solar and wind power. The crisis has also underscored the importance of investing in robust gas and power network infrastructure to better integrate regional markets. The EU’s RePowerEU, presented in May 2022 and the United States’ Inflation Reduction Act, passed in August 2022, both contain major initiatives to develop energy efficiency and promote renewable energies. 

Energy saving tips

Lower your thermostat by just 1°C to save around 7% of your heating energy and cut an average bill by EUR 50-70 a year. Always set your thermostat as low as feels comfortable, and wear warm clothes indoors. Use a programmable thermostat to set the temperature to 15°C while you sleep and 10°C when the house is unoccupied. This cuts up to 10% a year off heating bills. Try to only heat the room you’re in or the rooms you use regularly.

The same idea applies in hot weather. Turn off air-conditioning when you’re out. Set the overall temperature 1 °C warmer to cut bills by up to 10%. And only cool the room you’re in.

Default boiler settings are often higher than you need. Lower the hot water temperature to save 8% of your heating energy and cut EUR 100 off an average bill. You may have to have the plumber come once if you have a complex modern combi boiler and can’t figure out the manual. Make sure you follow local recommendations or consult your boiler manual. Swap a bath for a shower to spend less energy heating water. And if you already use a shower, take a shorter one. Hot water tanks and pipes should be insulated to stop heat escaping. Clean wood- and pellet-burning heaters regularly with a wire brush to keep them working efficiently.

Close windows and doors, insulate pipes and draught-proof around windows, chimneys and other gaps to keep the warm air inside. Unless your home is very new, you will lose heat through draughty doors and windows, gaps in the floor, or up the chimney. Draught-proof these gaps with sealant or weather stripping to save up to EUR 100 a year. Install tight-fitting curtains or shades on windows to retain even more heat. Close fireplace and chimney openings (unless a fire is burning) to stop warm air escaping straight up the chimney. And if you never use your fireplace, seal the chimney to stop heat escaping.

Replace old lightbulbs with new LED ones, and only keep on the lights you need. LED bulbs are more efficient than incandescent and halogen lights, they burn out less frequently, and save around EUR 10 a year per bulb. Check the energy label when buying bulbs, and aim for A (the most efficient) rather than G (the least efficient). The simplest and easiest way to save energy is to turn lights off when you leave a room.

Walking or cycling are great alternatives to driving for short journeys, and they help save money, cut emissions and reduce congestion. If you can, leave your car at home for shorter journeys; especially if it’s a larger car. Share your ride with neighbours, friends and colleagues to save energy and money. You’ll also see big savings and health benefits if you travel by bike. Many governments also offer incentives for electric bikes.

For longer distances where walking or cycling is impractical, public transport still reduces energy use, congestion and air pollution. If you’re going on a longer trip, consider leaving your car at home and taking the train. Buy a season ticket to save money over time. Your workplace or local government might also offer incentives for travel passes. Plan your trip in advance to save on tickets and find the best route.

Optimise your driving style to reduce fuel consumption: drive smoothly and at lower speeds on motorways, close windows at high speeds and make sure your tires are properly inflated. Try to take routes that avoid heavy traffic and turn off the engine when you’re not moving. Drive 10 km/h slower on motorways to cut your fuel bill by around EUR 60 per year. Driving steadily between 50-90 km/h can also save fuel. When driving faster than 80 km/h, it’s more efficient to use A/C, rather than opening your windows. And service your engine regularly to maintain energy efficiency.