Global Engagement

Learn about the IEA's work with other organisations & countries around the world

Learn more about


Morocco joined IEA Association in 2016.

Energy and climate policy in Morocco has seen major developments since the first International Energy Agency (IEA) in-depth review (IDR) of the country in 2014 and the IEA Clean Energy Technology Assessment of Morocco in 2016. Since 2014, the government of Morocco has proceeded with energy reforms based on the priorities outlined in its 2009 National Energy Strategy to enhance energy supply diversification: foster the development of Morocco’s industry and economy in the sectors of renewable energy and energy efficiency; integrate with regional and international markets; make energy efficiency a national priority; and encourage the development of indigenous

The government has stepped up its role in international action on climate change, ratifying the Paris Agreement, setting a new national climate policy and hosting the United Nations Conference of Parties (COP22) summit in Marrakesh in 2016.

The development of renewables is helping to improve energy security as well as deliver on Morocco’s clean energy and climate change commitments. Morocco is making strong progress towards affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy in line with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDG 7). The government has achieved almost full access to electricity for its rural population, and it is developing the country’s significant renewable energy resources. However, progress in reducing the energy intensity of Morocco’s economy is more difficult to achieve. While the share of renewables in electricity is progressing fast, its share in total final consumption (TFC) decreased considerably over the past decade, given the expanding energy demand.  Morocco has only renewable energy targets for electricity. With a view to meet SDG 7, which seeks a substantial increase in the share of renewable energy in the global energy mix (measured in TFC) by 2030, the government is encouraged to set targets for the use of modern renewables in residential and transport. This will strongly promote the reduction of fossil fuel use across the economy. As Morocco continues to rely on coal, oil, and gas imports for most of its energy needs, opportunities abound to reduce imports by developing domestic energy resources to reduce oil and coal use.

Technology Collaboration Programmes

The IEA Technology Collaboration Programmes (TCPs) underpin IEA efforts to support innovation for energy security, economic growth and environmental protection. The TCPs operating today involve about 6 000 experts from government, industry and research organisations in more than 50 countries.

Morocco participates in technology collaboration programme.

Read more about TCPs