Bill on the prohibition of coal-fired thermoelectric plants

Last updated: 5 October 2021

The Bill was drafted and presented in January 2020. It recognizes the impacts of emissions from coal-fired power plants as a risk to human health and to the environment.


On June 22, 2021, the Bill was approved by the Chamber of Deputies and will be voted on by the Chamber of Senators before entering into law.


The installation and operation of coal-fired thermoelectric plants will be prohibited throughout the country. For power plants that are less than 30 years old, the ban will take effect on December 31, 2025.


Want to know more about this policy ? Learn more (Spanish)