Sign In

Error
Error
Create an account

Create a free IEA account to download our reports or subcribe to a paid service.

Join for freeJoin for free
Available in

在太阳能光伏推动下,可再生能源新增装机容量有望在2021年再创年度纪录。今年将有近2.9亿千瓦新的可再生电力投产,比2020年已然极为惊人的增长率还要高3%。2021年,仅太阳能光伏就占所有新增可再生电力一半以上,其次是风电和水电。


Annual renewable electricity capacity additions, main and accelerated cases, 2014-2026

Openexpand

预计未来五年可再生能源装机容量将加速增长,到2026年将占全球新增电力装机容量的近95%。当前商品价格创下纪录,推高了风电和太阳能光伏新装机成本,但考虑到更有力的政策支持以及缔约方大会第二十六届会议宣布的宏伟气候目标,我们上调了一年前的预测。2020-2026年,全球可再生电力产能预计将增长超过60%,达到48亿千瓦以上,这相当于目前全球化石燃料和核能发电产能之和。总体而言,中国未来五年仍将保持领先地位,占全球可再生能源新增产能的43%,紧随其后的是欧洲、美国和印度;仅这四个市场就占全球可再生能源新增产能的80%。

中国和欧洲联盟将超过当前目标,为更雄心勃勃的增长趋势创造条件。中国承诺在2060年之前实现碳中和,并据此制定新的短期目标,如到2030年实现风电与太阳能光伏总装机容量达到12亿千瓦。我们预测中国将提前四年实现这一目标,其背后推力包括诸多省份长期合同的制定,电网整合优化,以及陆上风电和太阳能光伏发电相比于燃煤发电具有成本竞争力。2021-2026年期间可再生能源装机容量增加的趋势表明,整个欧洲联盟可再生电力增速将超过目前《国家能源与气候计划》(NECP)对2030年的预期。这一趋势为实现“减碳55%”计划下最终实现更宏伟目标的雄心提供了支撑。成员国能源项目拍卖量增加,公司签订可再生电力的合同增多,以及消费者安装的太阳能电池板越来越多,都在推动可再生能源快速部署。

Renewable electricity capacity growth by region/country, main case 2015-2020 and 2021-2026

Openexpand

在印度和美国,提高竞争力、制定宏伟目标以及提供政策支持,正在推动可再生电力创下新高。相对于现有装机容量,印度可再生电力增速已超过世界其他任何主要市场,与2015-2020年相比预计新增装机容量将翻倍。在竞拍机制的推动下,太阳能光伏有望引领潮流,推动实现政府可再生能源电力到2030年达到5亿千瓦的宏伟目标。2021-2026年期间,美国可再生能源新增装机容量比前五年增加65%,其背后原因包括风电和太阳能光伏的经济吸引力,联邦政府更雄心勃勃的目标,2020年12月对联邦税收抵免的延长,企业购电协议市场持续增长,以及不断加大对海上风电的支持力度。


尽管商品价格飙升导致太阳能光伏制造成本上升,但预计2021年其新增装机容量仍将增加17%,从而创下近1.6亿千瓦的年度新纪录。仅太阳能光伏就占所有可再生电力新增装机容量的60%,我们的主案例显示预测期内将有近11亿千瓦投产,为前五年的两倍。在全球绝大多数国家,集中式太阳能光伏在提高电力产能方面成本最低,尤其是在天然气和煤炭价格不断上涨的情况下。全球超过60%的太阳能光伏新增装机容量仍将来自集中式太阳能项目。与此同时,中国、欧洲联盟和印度的政策举措正在推动快速部署商用和户用光伏项目。

到2026年,陆上风电新增装机容量将比2015-2020年平均高出近25%。2020年全球陆上风电新增装机容量翻了一番,达到近1.1亿千瓦的非凡水平。这得益于中国风电的加速发展,电力开发商争相在补贴结束前完成项目。虽然年均新增装机容量未来几年不会达到2020年的纪录,但我们预测2021-2026年期间这一数字将达7500万千瓦。

Renewable electricity capacity growth by technology, main and accelerated cases, 2015-2020 and 2021-2026

Openexpand

预计到2026年,海上风电总装机容量将增加两倍以上。届时,海上风电新增装机容量预计将占全球风电市场的五分之一,这是一个重要的里程碑。得益于欧洲和中国以外新兴市场的快速扩张,到2026年全球海上风电新增装机容量将达到2100万千瓦,这包括预计将在美国、中国台北、韩国、越南和日本投产的大型项目。

可调节可再生能源的增长对于进一步整合风能和太阳能至关重要,但其增长预计将略有放缓。在我们的预测期内,水电、生物质能、地热和太阳能热发电的扩张仅占全球可再生能源新增装机容量的11%,其阻碍因素包括相对成本较高、缺乏政策支持以及灵活和可调节可再生能源的回报有限。


继去年因全球运输中断而出现历史性下降后,生物燃料总需求有望在2021年超越2019年。在主案例中,到2026年,全球生物燃料年需求量将增长28%,达到1860亿升。美国在体积增长方面处于领先地位,但这种增长在很大程度上是由于疫情导致下降后的反弹。在预测期内,亚洲生物燃料产量占新增产量的近30%,到2026年将超过欧洲。这要归功于各国强有力的政策举措、不断增长的液体燃料需求以及出口导向型生产方式。最近印度推出的乙醇政策以及印度尼西亚和马来西亚制定的生物柴油混合目标,是亚洲增长的主要驱动力。到2026年,印度将成为全球第三大乙醇需求市场。

Global ethanol production by country (from 3rd to 7th country), 2016-2026

Openexpand

Global biofuel demand by region, 2019-2026

Openexpand

自2020年初以来,可再生热能直接或间接得益于多项政策发展、主要是欧洲的政策发展的推出。根据现行政策,可再生热能消耗(不包括生物质的传统用途)预计将在2021-2026年期间增长四分之一。预计其在全球热能消耗中的占比将从2020年的11%上升到2026年的13%。化石燃料将继续满足全球不断增长的大部分热能需求,导致预测期内与热能相关的二氧化碳排放量增加5%。

可再生热能缺乏政策和财政激励措施,阻碍了其更快增长。在全球范围内,超过三分之一的热能消耗未获得任何可再生能源方面的财政激励,超过一半不受任何与可再生能源有关的监管措施的约束。供热市场的分散性和供热需求的地方性特征,在一定程度上表明国家政策覆盖面有限。鉴于此,有必要与地方行为体进一步加强合作。

Global renewable heat demand by fuel in industry, 2009-2026

Openexpand

Global renewable heat demand by fuel in the building sector, 2009-2026

Openexpand

商品、能源和运输价格不断上涨,增加了全球太阳能光伏组件、风力涡轮机和生物燃料的生产和运输成本。自2020年初以来,太阳能级多晶硅价格上涨4倍多,钢价上涨了50%,铝价上涨了80%,铜价上涨了60%,运费上涨了6倍。与2019年的商品价格相比,我们估计集中式太阳能光伏和陆上风电投资成本将增加25%。此外,在美国、印度和欧盟等主要市场,限制性贸易措施进一步刺激太阳能光伏组件和风力涡轮机价格上涨。

Impact of high commodity price scenario on total utility-scale PV and onshore wind investment, 2021-2024

Openexpand

Impact of high commodity price scenario on utility-scale solar PV and onshore wind investment costs, 2015-2026

Openexpand

受到大宗商品价格冲击,约1亿千瓦的合同装机容量可能会被推迟。设备制造商、安装商和开发商的成本以不同方式增长,一些行业比其他行业受到的影响更为严重。规模较小的公司由于资金有限,风险敞口更大。太阳能光伏和风力发电厂的较高价格对赢得竞拍并且期待设备价格持续下降的开发商而言构成特别挑战。若2022年之前大宗商品价格始终高企,太阳能三年削减成本和风电五年削减成本将不可能实现。由于成本增加,投资需增加1000亿美元以上才能达到相同的装机容量。这相当于将目前全球每年对可再生电力装机容量的投资增加约三分之一。

不过,天然气和煤炭价格上扬推高了风电与太阳能光伏的竞争力。对于企业而言,可将价格固定的可再生能源合同,用作对冲化石燃料能源现货价格上涨的一种手段。对于政府来说,电价上涨并未给风电和太阳能光伏带来更高补贴,因为约90%的风电和光伏项目都订有长期固定价格采购协议。

随着主要市场政策的变化,不断上涨的价格将使2021年生物燃料增长放缓逾3个百分点。与2019年新冠疫情危机之前的平均价格相比,截止2021年10月,美国、欧洲、巴西和印度尼西亚的生物燃料价格上涨了70%至150%,具体涨幅因市场和燃料种类而异。作为回应,阿根廷、哥伦比亚、印度尼西亚和巴西政府降低混合要求,从而减少了需求。我们估计,与要求维持不变或按计划调高的情景相比,这么做可使2021年的需求减少50亿升。


包括电力、热能、生物燃料和沼气在内的可再生能源仅占政府清洁能源经济复苏支出的11%。可再生能源预计将获得420亿美元,其中太阳能光伏和海上风电将占首位。不过,可再生能源公共支出的增加有望撬动4000亿美元以上的总投资。如果扶持政策和监管框架应用得当,预测期内还将部署近4亿千瓦的可再生能源项目(以太阳能和风能为主),相当于中东地区的全部装机容量。不过,私营部门的贡献水平将取决于支持新投资的相关政策和措施的效力。

Estimated renewable capacity additions resulting from approved government spending, as of October 2021

Openexpand

Global government clean energy stimulus in response to Covid-19 allocated until October 2021

Openexpand

尽管生物燃料和沼气在推动关键行业脱碳方面发挥着重要作用,但分配给它们的政府经济复苏支出资金还不到55亿美元。可再生热能技术获得的公共资金也很有限。这两个行业都将从更强有力的复苏刺激计划中大大受益。



各国政府需解决四个主要障碍,以加快可再生能源部署。对于发达经济体的风电和太阳能光伏项目来说,许可和电网整合面临多种挑战,导致政府拍卖量低于计划。在新兴和发展中经济体,政策实施不连贯、电网线路不完善以及承购商财务状况存在风险,都对投资者信心造成了打击,导致融资利率上升。各国普遍面临的问题是,回报不足和对灵活性缺乏针对性的政策支持。此外,风电和水电项目的社会接受度也面临挑战,导致越来越多的国家推迟或取消了已规划项目。

在我们的加速案例中,未来五年的可再生能源年新增装机容量可能比主案例高四分之一,年均超过3.8亿千瓦。对于加速案例,我们假设政府能在未来12至24个月内解决上述政策、监管和实施挑战。此外,大宗商品价格企稳并最终下跌,以及私营部门提供的负担得起的融资金额不断增多,这些都将推动可再生电力装机容量加速增长。

在加速案例中,2021-2026年生物燃料需求增长可能增加一倍以上。生物燃料需求及生产量的增加,取决于制定更强有力的政策来突破成本、可持续性和技术瓶颈。印度、欧盟、美国、中国及其他国家都正在考虑或正在实施更有力的生物燃料政策。然而与汽油或柴油相比,大多数市场的生物燃料成本相对较高,这一关键挑战限制了政策雄心以及生物燃料相比于其他减排技术的竞争力。可持续原料供应存在不确定性和技术限制也是重要障碍。



支持利用可再生能源和生物喷气燃料制氢的政策势头催生了大量项目。已规划项目若能实现,2021-2026年期间全球氢电解槽产能将推动额外部署1800万千瓦的风电和太阳能光伏装机容量。虽然在主案例中,这仅占可再生能源预测新增装机容量的1%,但从长远来看如果宣布的氢电解槽产能管道全部实现,可能会额外带来4.75亿千瓦的风电及太阳能光伏装机容量,相当于目前已安装可再生能源装机总量的三分之一。

Announced renewable capacity dedicated to hydrogen production, 2021-2026

Openexpand

Planned electrolyser capacity over 2021-2026

Openexpand

生物喷气燃料技术蓄势待发,但需求刺激政策还未跟上脚步。我们的主案例和加速案例显示,到2026年全球生物喷气燃料需求将达到20亿至60亿升。生物燃料的成功主要取决于美国、欧洲以及中国(具有潜在性)的政策探讨。鉴于拟议的绝对数量较低,可持续原料供应在未来五年可能不会成为制约因素。不过,提高废弃物中原料供应的多样性,对于实现中期快速增长仍至关重要。


在全球范围内,根据国际能源署提出的到2050年净零排放情景,到2026年可再生电力每年新增装机容量比主案例高出80%。对于太阳能光伏和风电,未来五年的年均新增装机容量需要达到主案例所预测水平的近两倍。

对于生物燃料,年需求增长需要翻两番。为了与到2050年净零排放情景一致,各国需要在2026年之前实施现有及已规划政策,同时加强这些政策的落实。这些政策必须确保生物燃料的可持续生产,避免对生物多样性、淡水系统、粮食价格及供应产生负面影响;必须有助于减少温室气体排放,而不只是刺激生物燃料需求。为了到2050年实现净零排放,可再生热能需求的增长水平需达到主案例中的近三倍。

为促使可再生能源有助于到2050年实现净零排放,各国政府不仅需要解决目前的政策和实施挑战,还需要提振对所有可再生能源使用的宏伟目标。除了利用太阳能和风电的竞争优势,各国政府还必须大力加强政策重点,关注将可调节可再生电力和可再生能源用于建筑、工业和交通。各国政府还应考虑将更多经济复苏支出投向可再生能源,同时出台政策法规,更好地调动私人资本。

Average annual renewable capacity additions, 2015-2026

Openexpand

Renewable heat demand growth, 2015-2026

Openexpand

Biofuels demand growth, 2015-2026

Openexpand

Sign In

Error
Error
Create an account

Create a free IEA account to download our reports or subcribe to a paid service.

Join for freeJoin for free
Available in

Report extract

Executive summary

Additions of renewable power capacity are on track to set yet another annual record in 2021, driven by solar PV. Almost 290 gigawatts (GW) of new renewable power will be commissioned this year, which is 3% higher than 2020’s already exceptional growth. Solar PV alone accounts for more than half of all renewable power expansion in 2021, followed by wind and hydropower. 

Annual renewable electricity capacity additions, main and accelerated cases, 2014-2026

Openexpand

The growth of renewable capacity is forecast to accelerate in the next five years, accounting for almost 95% of the increase in global power capacity through 2026. We have revised up our forecast from a year earlier, as stronger policy support and ambitious climate targets announced for COP26 outweigh the current record commodity prices that have increased the costs of building new wind and solar PV installations. Globally, renewable electricity capacity is forecast to increase by over 60% between 2020 and 2026, reaching more than 4 800 GW. This is equivalent to the current global power capacity of fossil fuels and nuclear combined. Overall, China remains the leader over the next five years, accounting for 43% of global renewable capacity growth, followed by Europe, the United States and India. These four markets alone account for 80% of renewable capacity expansion worldwide.

China and the European Union are set to overshoot their current targets, setting the stage for a more ambitious growth trajectory. China’s commitment to reach carbon neutrality before 2060 has led to new nearer-term targets, such as 1 200 GW of total wind and solar PV capacity by 2030. We forecast that China will reach this target four years early thanks to the availability of long-term contracts, improved grid integration, and the cost competitiveness of onshore wind and solar PV compared with coal generation in many provinces. The trajectory of renewable capacity growth over the 2021-26 period indicates that renewable power growth in the European Union as a whole is set to outpace what the current National Energy and Climate Plans (NECPs) envision for 2030. This trend supports the ambition of reaching the stronger targets being finalised under the “Fit for 55” programme. Rapid deployment is being driven by member countries implementing larger auction volumes, corporations contracting for more renewable electricity, and consumers continuing to install large amounts of solar panels. 

Renewable electricity capacity growth by region/country, main case 2015-2020 and 2021-2026

Openexpand

Improving competitiveness, ambitious targets and policy support are putting renewable power on course for new highs in India and the United States. Relative to existing capacity, renewable power is growing faster in India than any other key market in the world, with new installations set to double over our forecast period compared with 2015-20. Solar PV is expected to lead the way, driven by competitive auctions aimed at achieving the government’s ambitious renewable power target of 500 GW by 2030. Over the 2021-26 period, the expansion of renewable capacity in the United States is 65% greater than in the previous five years. This is the combined result of the economic attractiveness of wind and solar PV, increased ambition at the federal level, the extension of federal tax credits in December 2020, a growing market for corporate power purchase agreements, and growing support for offshore wind.


Even with surging commodity prices increasing manufacturing costs for solar PV, its capacity additions are forecast to grow by 17% in 2021. This will set a new annual record of almost 160 GW. Solar PV alone accounts for 60% of all renewable capacity additions, with almost 1 100 GW becoming operational over the forecast period in our main case, double the rate over the previous five years. In a significant majority of countries worldwide, utility-scale solar PV is the least costly option for adding new electricity capacity, especially amid rising natural gas and coal prices. Utility-scale solar projects continue to provide over 60% of all solar PV additions worldwide. Meanwhile, policy initiatives in China, the European Union and India are boosting the deployment of commercial and residential PV projects.

Onshore wind additions through 2026 are set to be almost 25% higher on average than in the 2015-2020 period. Global onshore wind additions doubled in 2020, reaching an exceptional level of almost 110 GW. This was driven by an acceleration in China as developers rushed to complete projects before subsidies expired. While annual additions in the coming years are not expected to match 2020’s record, we forecast that they will average 75 GW per year over the 2021-2026 period. 

Renewable electricity capacity growth by technology, main and accelerated cases, 2015-2020 and 2021-2026

Openexpand

Total offshore wind capacity is forecast to more than triple by 2026. By then, offshore wind additions are expected to account for one-fifth of the global wind market, a major milestone. Global capacity additions of offshore wind are set to reach 21 GW by 2026, thanks to rapid expansion in new markets beyond Europe and China. This includes large-scale projects that are expected to be commissioned in the United States, Chinese Taipei, Korea, Viet Nam, and Japan.

The expansion of dispatchable renewables is critical to support the integration of more wind and solar, but their growth is forecast to slow slightly. The expansion of hydropower, bioenergy, geothermal and concentrated solar power accounts for only 11% of renewable capacity expansion worldwide over our forecast period. Relatively higher costs, lack of policy support and limited remuneration of flexible and dispatchable renewables discourage their expansion. 


Following a historic decline last year amid global transport disruption, total biofuel demand is on course to surpass 2019 levels in 2021. In our main case, annual global demand for biofuels is set to grow by 28% by 2026, reaching 186 billion litres. The United States leads in volume increases, but much of this growth is a rebound from the drop caused by the pandemic. Asia accounts for almost 30% of new production over the forecast period, overtaking European biofuel production by 2026. This is thanks to strong domestic policies, growing liquid fuel demand and export-driven production. Recent Indian ethanol policies and blending targets for biodiesel in Indonesia and Malaysia are responsible for most of the growth in Asia. India is set to become the third largest market for ethanol demand worldwide by 2026.

Global ethanol production by country (from 3rd to 7th country), 2016-2026

Openexpand

Global biofuel demand by region, 2019-2026

Openexpand

Since the start of 2020, heat from renewable sources has benefited directly or indirectly from several policy developments, mostly in Europe. Under current policies, renewable heat consumption, excluding traditional uses of biomass, is expected to increase by one-quarter during the 2021-26 period. Its share of global heat consumption is only forecast to rise from 11% in 2020 to 13% in 2026. Fossil fuels are set to continue meeting much of the growing global demand for heat, leading to a 5% increase in heat-related CO2 emissions over our forecast period.

The lack of policy and financial incentives for renewable heat is preventing faster growth. Globally, more than one-third of heat consumption is not covered by any financial incentive for renewables, and more than half is not subject to any renewables-related regulatory measures. The fragmented nature of heat markets and local characteristics of heat demand partly explain the limited national policy coverage. This makes greater collaboration with subnational actors necessary.

Global renewable heat demand by fuel in industry, 2009-2026

Openexpand

Global renewable heat demand by fuel in the building sector, 2009-2026

Openexpand

Rising commodity, energy and shipping prices have increased the cost of producing and transporting solar PV modules, wind turbines and biofuels worldwide. Since the beginning of 2020, prices for PV-grade polysilicon more than quadrupled, steel has increased by 50%, aluminium by 80%, copper by 60%, and freight fees have risen six-fold. Compared with commodity prices in 2019, we estimate that investment costs for utility-scale solar PV and onshore wind are 25% higher. In addition, restrictive trade measures have brought additional price increases to solar PV modules and wind turbines in key markets such as the United States, India and the European Union.

Impact of high commodity price scenario on total utility-scale PV and onshore wind investment, 2021-2024

Openexpand

Impact of high commodity price scenario on utility-scale solar PV and onshore wind investment costs, 2015-2026

Openexpand

Around 100 GW of contracted capacity risks being delayed by commodity price shocks. Equipment manufacturers, installers and developers are absorbing cost increases in different ways, with some sectors being more heavily affected than others. Smaller companies are more exposed because of their more limited finances. Higher prices for solar PV and wind plants pose a particular challenge for developers who won competitive auctions anticipating continuous reductions in equipment prices. If commodity prices remain high through 2022, three years of costs reductions for solar and five years for wind would be erased. The increased costs would require over USD 100 billion of additional investment to install the same amount of capacity. This is equivalent to increasing today’s annual global investment in renewable power capacity by about one-third.

But higher natural gas and coal prices have improved the competitiveness of wind and solar PV. For corporations, fixed-price renewable energy contracts serve as a hedge against higher spot prices for fossil fuel energy. For governments, higher electricity prices have not brought higher subsidies for wind and solar PV, as around 90% of all wind and PV projects have long-term fixed-price purchase agreements.

Rising prices are slowing biofuels’ growth by more than 3 percentage points in 2021 as polices changed in key markets. Compared with average 2019 prices prior to the Covid-19 crisis, biofuel prices had increased between 70% and 150% across the United States, Europe, Brazil and Indonesia by October 2021, depending on the market and fuel. In response, governments have lowered blending mandates in Argentina, Colombia, Indonesia and Brazil, reducing demand. We estimate these actions have reduced demand by 5 billion litres in 2021 compared with a scenario in which mandates remained unchanged or were increased as planned. 


Renewables – including electricity, heat, biofuels and biogas – account for just 11% of governments’ economic recovery spending on clean energy. Renewables are expected to receive USD 42 billion, led by solar PV and offshore wind. But greater public spending on renewable power could mobilise more than USD 400 billion of total investment. If appropriate enabling policies and regulatory frameworks were implemented, almost 400 GW of additional renewable projects – led by solar and wind -- could be deployed over our forecast period, equal to the entire installed power capacity of the Middle East. However, the level of private sector contribution will depend on the effectiveness of the policies and implementation measures supporting the new investment. 

Estimated renewable capacity additions resulting from approved government spending, as of October 2021

Openexpand

Global government clean energy stimulus in response to Covid-19 allocated until October 2021

Openexpand

Despite their important role in decarbonising key sectors, biofuels and biogas were allocated less than USD 5.5 billion of government economic recovery spending. Renewable heat technologies also saw a limited public funding. Both industries would strongly benefit from enhanced recovery stimulus programmes. 


Governments need to address four main barriers to accelerate renewables deployment. For wind and solar PV projects in advanced economies, various challenges to permitting and grid integration have led to lower-than-planned capacity being awarded in government auctions. In emerging and developing economies, stop-and-go policies, the lack of grid availability and risks concerning off-takers’ financial health are hurting investor confidence, resulting in elevated financing rates. Lack of remuneration and targeted policy support for flexibility are an issue in all countries. In addition, challenges concerning social acceptance of wind and hydropower projects caused an increasing number of countries to delay or cancel planned projects.

In our accelerated case, annual renewable capacity additions in the next five years could be one-quarter higher than in our main case, reaching more than 380 GW per year on average. Our accelerated case assumes that governments address the above-mentioned policy, regulatory and implementation challenges in the next 12-24 months. Moreover, the stabilisation and eventual decline of commodity prices and increasing volumes of affordable financing from the private sector all contribute to the accelerated growth of renewable electricity capacity.

Biofuels demand growth could more than double between 2021-2026 in our accelerated case. Increasing biofuel demand and production hinges on stronger policies that address cost, sustainability and technical limitations. India, the European Union, the United States, China and other countries are all considering or implementing strengthened biofuels policies. However, relatively higher cost of biofuels compared with gasoline or diesel in most markets remain a key challenge, limiting policy ambition or how well biofuels compete with other emission reduction technologies. Uncertainty over the availability of sustainable feedstocks and technical constraints are also important barriers.  


Policy momentum supporting the production of hydrogen from renewables and biojet has stimulated a large number of projects. If realised, planned projects indicate that global electrolyser capacity for hydrogen could stimulate the deployment of 18 GW of additional wind and solar PV capacity in the 2021-2026 period. While this would account for only 1% of forecast growth of renewables in our main case, the fulfilment of the entire announced electrolyser capacity pipeline could bring an additional 475 GW of wind and solar PV capacity in the longer term, the equivalent of one-third of total installed variable renewable capacity today.

Announced renewable capacity dedicated to hydrogen production, 2021-2026

Openexpand

Planned electrolyser capacity over 2021-2026

Openexpand

Biojet technology is ready to fly but policies to stimulate demand lag behind. Global biojet demand is set to range from 2 billion to 6 billion litres by 2026 in our main and accelerated cases. The success of biofuels mainly depends on policy discussions in the United States, Europe and potentially China. Given the low absolute volumes proposed, feedstock sustainability will likely not prove a constraint over the next five years. However, increasing the diversity of feedstock supply from waste remains critical to achieve rapid expansion in the medium-term. 


Globally, annual renewable power capacity additions through 2026 in the IEA’s Net Zero Emissions by 2050 Scenario are 80% higher than in our main case. For solar PV and wind, average annual additions would need to be almost double what we see in our main case forecast over the next five years.

For biofuels, annual demand growth needs to quadruple. To align with the Net Zero Emissions by 2050 Scenario, countries would need to implement existing and planned policies while also strengthening them before 2026. These policies must ensure that biofuels are produced sustainably and avoid negative impacts on biodiversity, freshwater systems, food prices and food availability. Policies must also incentivise greenhouse gas reductions, not just biofuel demand. For net zero by 2050, renewable heat demand growth needs to almost triple from the main case.

To get renewables on track with net zero by 2050, governments not only need to address current policy and implementation challenges but also increase ambition for all renewable energy uses. Governments can build on the momentum of competitive solar and wind, but they must also significantly strengthen their policy focus on dispatchable renewable electricity and renewable energy use in buildings, industry and transport. Governments should also consider targeting much more economic recovery spending on renewables while also putting in place policies and regulations enabling higher mobilisation of private capital.

Average annual renewable capacity additions, 2015-2026

Openexpand

Renewable heat demand growth, 2015-2026

Openexpand

Biofuels demand growth, 2015-2026

Openexpand