Irish and French Ministers to co-chair the IEA’s 2024 Ministerial that will mark the Agency’s 50th anniversary

Iea Ministerial 2024 Chairs Web

Australian, Canadian, Dutch and Polish Ministers will serve as vice chairs of event taking place in February 2024

Irish Minister for Environment, Climate and Communications Eamon Ryan and French Minister for Energy Transition Agnès Pannier-Runacher have been elected by the IEA’s Governing Board to co-chair the 2024 IEA Ministerial.

The Governing Board also elected four vice chairs for the meeting: Chris Bowen, Australia’s Minister for Climate Change and Energy; Jonathan Wilkinson, Canada’s Minister of Natural Resources; Rob Jetten, the Netherlands’ Minister for Climate and Energy Policy; and Anna Moskwa, Poland’s Minister of Climate and Environment.

The meeting will be held in Paris in February 2024, coinciding with the 50th anniversary of the Agency’s founding. The IEA Ministerial takes place every two years to set the Agency’s mandate and review its achievements. The 2024 Ministerial will provide a key opportunity for countries to assess the latest developments in global energy markets and how they can advance international cooperation on energy security and tackling climate change.