Country:United States
Policy status:Ended
Date Effective:2005
Policy Type:Policy Support>Strategic planning
Policy Target:
Agency:U.S. Department of State

The United States joined with Australia, China, India, Japan, and South Korea the Asia-Pacific Partnership on Clean Development and Climate in July 2005, in an effort to accelerate the development and deployment of clean energy technologies. Canada also joined the partnership in October 2007. This partnership focuses on voluntary practical measures taken by these seven countries in the Asia-Pacific region to create new investment opportunities, build local capacity, and remove barriers to the introduction of clean, more efficient technologies. This partnerships aim is to help each country meet nationally designed strategies for improving energy security, reducing pollution, and addressing the long-term challenge of climate change.The intent is to: - develop, deploy and transfer existing and emerging clean technology; - meet increased energy needs and explore ways to reduce the greenhouse gas intensity of economies; - build human and institutional capacity to strengthen cooperative efforts; and - seek ways to engage the private sector. Currently, the Partners have approved eight public-private sector task forces covering: Aluminium, Buildings and Appliances, Cement, Cleaner Fossil Energy, Coal Mining, Power Generation and Transmission, Renewable Energy and Distributed Generation, and Steel. The seven partner countries collectively account for more than half of the worlds economy, population and energy use, and they produce about 65 percent of the worlds coal, 62 percent of the worlds cement, 52 percent of worlds aluminium, and more than 60 percent of the worlds steel.

Last modified: Wed, 21 May 2014 12:42:36 CEST