Country:United States
Policy status:In Force
Date Effective:2015
Policy Type:Regulatory Instruments>Codes and standards
Policy Target:Buildings, Energy Sector, Transport, Transport>Infrastructure and Planning, Resilience / Adaptation
Agency:The White House; Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

The President’s Climate Action Plan (June 2013) directs federal agencies to take the appropriate actions to reduce risk to federal investments, specifically to “update their flood-risk reduction standards.” To further the Climate Action Plan, the President released an Executive Order in January 2015 establishing a Federal Flood Risk Management Standard.

The Standard requires all new and rebuilt federally funded structures and facilities in and around floodplains to meet the level of resilience as established by the Standard. The Standard specifically requires agencies to consider current and future risk when taxpayer dollars are used to build or rebuild floodplains.

In implementing the Standard, federal agencies have flexibility in selecting one of three approaches for establishing the flood elevation and hazard area they use in siting, design, and construction:

  • Utilizing best-available, actionable data and methods that integrate current and future changes in flooding based on science,
  • Two or three feet of elevation, depending on the criticality of the building, above the 100-year, or 1%-annual-chance, flood elevation, or
  • 500-year, or 0.2%-annual-chance, flood elevation.
Related policies:US Climate Action Plan

Last modified: Wed, 26 Aug 2015 10:46:09 CEST