Policy status:In Force
Date Effective:2005
Policy Type:Policy Support
Agency:Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Energy (MOCIE)
Climate Change Description:Korea joined The Asia-Pacific Partnership on Clean Development and Climate at its launch in January 2006. An international non-treaty agreement between Australia, Canada, India, Japan, the Peoples Republic of China, South Korea, and the United States, the Partnership was first announced on July 28, 2005 at an Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) Regional Forum meeting and formally launched on 12 January 2006 at the Partnerships inaugural Ministerial meeting in Sydney. Foreign, Environment and Energy Ministers from partner countries agreed to co-operate on development and transfer of technology which enables reduction of greenhouse gas emissions. Ministers agreed a Charter, Communique and Work Plan that outline a "private-public taskforcess to address climate change, energy security and air pollution." Canada joined the partnership in October 2007. Member countries account for around 50% of the worlds greenhouse gas emissions, energy consumption, GDP and population. Unlike the Kyoto Protocol, which imposes mandatory limits on greenhouse gas emissions, this agreement allows member countries to set their goals for reducing emissions individually, with no mandatory enforcement mechanism.

Last modified: Thu, 26 Jul 2012 15:28:41 CEST