Policy status:Superseded
Jurisdiction:Municipal, National
Date Effective:2003
Policy Type:Economic Instruments, Regulatory Instruments
Agency:Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Energy (MOCIE)
Climate Change Description:

Korea has designated about 50 houses that purchase a considerable share of their energy needs from new and renewable energy sources as "Green Village". Gwanju city and Daegu city are the first cities that have established "Green Village" houses, followed by Jeju (Hankyung city), Gangwon (Sokcho city) and Jeonbuk (Kochang city) provinces, bringing the total to five across the country by late 2003. Once the pilot Green Villages are established, the country will encourage the private sector to participate voluntarily.

Last modified: Thu, 02 Jun 2016 18:40:57 CEST