Policy status:In Force
Date Effective:2005
Policy Type:Policy Support
Policy Target:
Description:Japan is a member of the Asia-Pacific Partnership on Clean Development and Climate. An international non-legal binding framework between Australia, Canada, India, Japan, the Peoples Republic of China, South Korea, and the United States, the Partnership was first announced on July 28, 2005 at Vientiane and formally launched on January 12, 2006 at the Partnerships inaugural Ministerial meeting in Sydney. Foreign, Environment and Energy Ministers from partner countries agreed to co-operate on development and transfer of technology which enables reduction of greenhouse gas emissions. Ministers agreed to a Charter, Communique and Work Plan that outline a "private-public taskforcess to address climate change, energy security and air pollution." The APP has established 8 taskforces: - Cleaner fossil energy - Renewable energy and distribution generation - Power generation and transmission - Steel - Aluminum - Cement - Coal mining - Building and appliances Canada joined the parternship in October 2007. Member countries account for around 50% of the worlds greenhouse gas emissions, energy consumption, GDP and population. The Partnership will be consistent with and contribute to Japans efforts under the UNFCCC and will complement, but not replace, the Kyoto Protocol.

Last modified: Tue, 24 Jul 2012 16:50:38 CEST