Policy status:In Force
Date Effective:2005
Policy Type:Regulatory Instruments>Codes and standards
Policy Target:Transport
Agency:National Development and Reform Commission

The National Development and Reform Commission established mandatory fuel efficiency standards for passenger cars in 2004. The standards were implemented in two phases: Phase 1 took effect in 2005 for passenger vehicles and Phase 2 in 2008 for light-duty vehicles. The standards classify vehicles into 16 categories based on vehicle weight. Standard values are set for each category. In addition, there are different standard values for manual transmissions and automatic transmissions. Manufacturers must get the vehicle type they want to market certified to comply with the standards. The standard values are maximum allowable limits for each vehicle type, not the limits for the fleet average of the categories.

year effective: 2005 (and 2008)

Last modified: Thu, 02 Nov 2017 17:02:37 CET