Policy status:In Force
Date Effective:2005
Policy Type:
Climate Change Description:

China is a member of the Asia-Pacific Partnership on Clean Development and Climate. An international non-legal binding framework between Australia, Canada, India, Japan, the Peoples Republic of China, South Korea, and the United States, the Partnership was first announced on 28 July 2005 at Vientiane and formally launched on 12 January 2006 at the Partnerships inaugural Ministerial meeting in Sydney. Foreign, Environment and Energy Ministers from partner countries agreed to co-operate on development and transfer of technology which enables reduction of greenhouse gas emissions. Ministers agreed to a Charter, Communique and Work Plan that outline a "private-public taskforcess to address climate change, energy security and air pollution."

The APP has established 8 taskforces:

  1. Aluminium
  2. Buildings and Appliances
  3. Cement
  4. Coal Mining
  5. Steel
  6. Cleaner fossil energy
  7. Renewable energy and distribution generation
  8. Power generation and transmission

Building and appliances Canada joined the parternship in October 2007.

Member countries account for around 50% of the worlds greenhouse gas emissions, energy consumption, GDP and population.

Last modified: Mon, 22 May 2017 11:14:43 CEST