Policy status:In Force
Date Effective:2005
Policy Type:Regulatory Instruments
Policy Target:
Agency:Environment Canada
Legal References:
Description:In formally designating six greenhouse gases as pollutants under Canadas Environmental Protection Act, Environment Canada permits the government to formally regulate their emissions. As of January 2006, the Canadian state can specifically limit emissions of the greenhouse gases named in the Kyoto Protocol: carbon dioxide, methane, nitrous oxide, hydrofluorocarbons, perfluorocarbons, and sulfur hexafluoride.

Last modified: Wed, 18 Jul 2012 15:38:19 CEST