Policy status:Ended
Date Effective:1999
Policy Type:Policy Support, Voluntary Approaches>Negotiated Agreements (Public-private sector), Information and Education>Advice/Aid in Implementation, Information and Education>Information provision, Regulatory Instruments>Monitoring
Policy Target:Framework/ Multi-sectoral Policy
Agency:Department of the Enviornment, Water Heritage and the Arts (DEWHA)
Funding:AUD 13 Million over 5 years

Cities for Climate Protection (CCP) Australia was formally established in September 1998 and entered into force in 1999. It was an international trade-marked program of the International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives (ICLEI) in collaboration with the Australian Greenhouse Office. In participating in CCP Australia, councils commit to progress through five milestones to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions: 1. Assess the emissions produced by their own facilities (corporate emissions) and by the community 2. Establish an emissions reduction goal 3. Develop a local action plan 4. Implement the local action plan 5. Monitor and report on the implementation of the local action plan.

Related policies:Cool Communities , Local Greenhouse Action

Last modified: Mon, 12 May 2014 16:21:54 CEST