Energy Efficiency Standard and Notification System

Last updated: 19 April 2019

The energy conservation standards for housing and building were first established in 1980 as part of the revised Act on the Rational Use of Energy (Energy Conservation Act). These energy conservation standards are called the “Standard of Judgment” in the Act. Originally, the “Standard of Judgment” was by technology (including building envelope performance). Since the inception, the standard was revised twice in 1992 and 1999.In 2013, the Standard was revised from prescriptive standard (set by technology) to performance standard, which is called “Energy Efficiency Standard”. Energy Efficiency Standard is comprised of (1) Energy Consumption Performance Standard and (2) Envelope Performance Standard. The Energy Consumption Performance Standard calculate overall primary energy consumption from heating and cooling, ventilation, water heat supply and lighting.

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn moreLearn more

End uses covered
  • Building end-uses
  • Building systems
  • Space heating
  • Space cooling
  • Ventilation
  • Humidification
  • Water heating
  • Lighting
  • Multiple end-uses