IEA current and former Executive Directors reunite at Ministerial Meeting

9 November 2017

171109 Ministerial Birol former ED Tanaka Mandil PriddleFrom left: Fatih Birol, Nobuo Tanaka, Claude Mandil, and Robert Priddle. (Photograph: IEA)

The International Energy Agency's 2017 Ministerial Meeting provided an opportunity for Dr Fatih Birol, the IEA's executive director, to reunite with some of his predecessors. 

Three former IEA executive directors -- Robert Priddle, from the United Kingdom (1994-2003); Claude Mandil, from France (2003-2007); and Nobuo Tanaka, from Japan (2007-2011) -- attended the Ministerial dinner, where they caught up with Dr Birol, who worked with them in his prior positions at the IEA. 

Ministers from the IEA's 29 member countries, seven Association countries, partners and more than 30 CEOs from the world's leading energy companies, gathered in Paris for the ministerial meeting. Read more here.  

Latest articles