IEA releases latest statistics on global CO₂ emissions

24 October 2011

While carbon dioxide emissions in non-Annex I countries continued to grow in 2009 (+3.3%), emissions of Annex I countries fell sharply (-6.5%), according to a new publication from the International Energy Agency. Most of the reduction, however, comes from a decrease in the energy consumption due to the 2008-2009 economic crisis.

Statistics for 2009 show that emission levels for the group of countries participating in the Kyoto Protocol – a multinational agreement to mitigate climate change – were just shy of 15% below their 1990 level.

These findings are contained in a free document which contains CO₂ Emissions from Fuel Combustion 2011, an IEA statistics publication which will be released in November 2011. The free document, which contains all the latest information on the level and growth of CO₂emissions, has been released in the lead-up to the UN climate negotiations in Durban to provide input and support for the UN process.

Key findings include:

  • Two-thirds of global emissions for 2009 originated from just ten countries, with the shares of China and the United States far surpassing those of all others. (Combined, these two countries alone produced 41% of the world’s CO₂ emissions.)
  • Between 1990 and 2009, CO₂emissions from the combustion of coal grew from 40% to 43% and natural gas from 18 to 20%, while CO₂ emissions from oil fell from 42% to 37%
  • Two sectors – Electricity and heat generation and transport – produced nearly two-thirds of global CO₂emissions in 2009, up from 58% in 1990


The Annex I Parties to the 1992 UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) are: Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, European Economic Community, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom and United States.