The Climate Technology Initiative (CTI) 2001 World Climate Technology and Leadership Awards

(Paris) — 9 October 2001

The Climate Technology Initiative's Awards Programme recognises outstanding achievements in the deployment of climate-friendly technologies by individuals and organisations. The 3rd annual CTI awards ceremony will be held on 6 November 2001 in Marrakech, Morocco at the Seventh Conference of the Parties to the UNFCCC. The winners of the 2001 CTI Climate Technology Leadership Award (individuals) are:

Mr. Clovis Ricardo Schrappe Borges, Sociedad de Pesquisa em Vida Selvagem e Educacao A (SPVS) - Curitiba, Brazil for leading his organisation SPVS in protecting threatened rain forests in Brazil. Mr. Borges has demonstrated how large-scale forest conservation projects can benefit bio-diversity preservation and climate change mitigation.

Dr. Baldur Eliasson, ABB Corporate Research - Baden-Daetwill, Switzerland for launching the China Energy Technology Programme which analyses power generation's environmental impact from cradle to grave. Dr. Eliasson launched a research programme on air pollution from coal in China. He also headed the Energy and Global Change department of ABB.

The winners of the 2001 CTI World Climate Technology Award (organisations) are:

Climate Change/Sustainable Energy Programme, United Nations Foundation for promoting large-scale applications of sustainable energy in developing countries. Its activities focus on three main areas: renewable energy, energy efficiency and the Clean Development Mechanism of the Kyoto Protocol. One of the programme's activities is the African rural energy enterprise development initiative. It provides seed capital and practical help and advice to local clean-energy entrepreneurs in five African countries.

COGEN, Asian Institute of Technology for developing and implementing biomass co-generation technology projects. The institute's activities include training, project identification and evaluation, which have contributed to the implementation of fourteen projects involving over $30 million. The institute has also run several demonstration projects.

ORMAT International, Inc for pioneering the use of air-cooled geothermal power plants and for the development of the first privately financed geothermal power project in Kenya. ORMAT has constructed more than 700 MW of geothermal capacity, which have offset an estimated twelve million tons of CO2 in the past decade.

These prestigious awards will be presented at a ceremony at 18h00 on 6 November 2001 by Robert Priddle, Executive Director of the International Energy Agency and other distinguished speakers. The ceremony will be held at the Palais des Congrès, Avenue de France, Marrakech, Morocco.
A multimedia display of past winners and awards ceremonies is available on the CTI website at In the coming months, criteria and applications for the 2002 CTI Awards will be available on the website. Nominations for individuals or organisations who deserve recognition for outstanding work in climate-friendly technology transfer are encouraged.

The Climate Technology Initiative is an organisation of 23 countries and the European Commission. CTI works to accelerate development and diffusion of clean technologies and practices and to strengthen the capacity of developing countries and economies in transition to successfully employ them. CTI activities support the efforts of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change to achieve stabilisation of atmospheric concentrations of greenhouse gases.


Latest articles