Fusion Power Co-ordinating Committee (FPCC)

The objectives of the FPCC are to provide a forum to co-ordinate international science and research with regard to fusion: device-specific research (tokamaks and alternate concepts) and cross-cutting research (materials, safety and technologies).

As with the other working parties, the FPCC also oversees the eight IEA Technology Collaboration Programmes (IEA TCPs), formally organised under the auspices of Implementing Agreements, operating in its area.

Following the establishment of ITER in 2007, discussions in the FPCC have focused on rationalising international scientific programmes concerning fusion, including among the fusion-related IEA TCPs. One important recent action of the FPCC was the creation of a co-ordination group to examine "steady-state operations" in all fusion-related IEA TCPs. Steady-state operation, or maintaining the plasma in equilibrium, is one of the key challenges to successfully creating power from fusion devices.

Another important aspect of the work of the FPCC is to hold strategic sessions (webinars) in support of the successive Strategic Plans. Recent strategic sessions include:

Presentations (and in some cases videos) of recent strategic sessions are avialble on the IEA website under 'Workshops'.

Organisations and initiatives, such as the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the ITER project, as well as key partner countries, regularly participate in FPCC meetings.

IEA Technology Collaboration Programmes in the FPCC portfolio:

  • Co-operation on Tokamak Programmes (CTP TCP)
  • Environmental, Safety and Economic Aspects of Fusion Power (ESEFP TCP)
  • Fusion Materials (FM TCP)
  • Nuclear Technology of Fusion Reactors (NTFR TCP)
  • Plasma Wall Interaction (PWI TCP)
  • Reversed Field Pinches (RFP TCP)
  • Spherical Tori (ST TCP)
  • Stellarator-Heliotron Concept (SH TCP)