‌‌‌‌‌‌‌‌The IEA has been actively involved in supporting energy deliberations of the Group of Seven major economies (G7) for more than a decade, and more recently since the group took its current form in 2014. The 2014 Rome G7 Energy Initiative For Energy Security and the 2015 Hamburg G7 Initiative for Sustainable Energy Securitytasked the IEA and partner organisations with providing analyses and recommendations on gas supply security, energy efficiency and sustainable energy technology. In 2016, the IEA worked closely with the Japanese Presidency of the G7 on these and additional topics, as outlined in the 2016 Kitakyushu Initiative on Energy Security for Global Growth. The IEA Executive Director provided the keynote address at the G7 Ministerial Meeting in May 2016, having briefed the Prime Minister and Cabinet the month earlier.

What is the G7?

The G7 is an informal group of industrialised economies, originating in 1975 at a summit that brought together France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The summit became known as the G7 in 1976 with the addition of Canada. The European Union is also represented in G7 discussions.

IEA Contributions to the G7 2015-2016

Gas Security

Electricity Security & Grid Integration of Variable Renewables

Energy Efficiency

Technology Roadmap

Cyber Security