Joint Statement of Intent for future collaboration signed between the IEA and APEC EWG

APEC-EWG Joint StatementThe International Energy Agency (IEA) signed a Joint Statement of Intent with The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Energy Working Group (APEC EWG) on 13 October 2015 at the Shangri-La Mactan in Cebu.

The signing ceremony was held as part of the 12th APEC Energy Ministers’ Meeting, in which IEA and APEC jointly declared future collaboration having the Director of the IEA Energy Markets and Security Directorate Keisuke Sadamori and APEC Energy Working Group Lead Shepherd Dr. Phyllis Yoshida as signatories.

During the Energy Ministers’ meeting, Keisuke Sadamori,  gave a keynote speech, which covered energy sector resiliency from a global perspective, and the need for emergency response preparedness was emphasized as one of the keys to cope with the global challenge of energy resiliency.

With the Joint Statement of Intent, the long-standing relationship between the IEA and APEC had markedly intensified and broadened.

Building on many years of extensive co-operation in various areas of mutual interest, the IEA and APEC seek to expand collaboration in areas including notably, energy security, energy data and statistics, renewable energy, fossil fuel subsidy reform, energy market analysis, and capacity building.