Working together to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy

flag-pol flag-chi

Connect with us:

RSS LinkedIn You Tube

Opinion Leaders on WEO

"Following Durban, it is of utmost importance for international negotiators to rely on credible, quantitative analysis to adopt effective and appropriate policy choices to mitigate climate change. The World Energy Outlook provides this authoritative analysis […] The Commission looks forward to the 2012 edition of the World Energy Outlook, as the authoritative source of information for countries around the world to implement smart energy and climate policies. This can contribute to a successful discussion at the Doha Climate Conference later this year. "
(Connie Hedegaard, European Union Commissioner for Climate Action, 20 March 2012)

"As in the past, also the World Energy Outlook 2011 edition proved to be among the most valuable sources for worldwide energy market and a precious support in long-term decision-making. It provides a comprehensive view and a chartered route for anyone committed to guarantee access to energy for all, while meeting the growing global energy demand in a sustainable way. A well balanced generation mix, innovations in generation, distribution and customers’ behaviour together with a proper and stable regulatory framework should become priorities for coping with the challenges envisaged in the Outlook."          
(Fulvio Conti, CEO and General Manager Enel, 13 December 2011)

The  IEA is globally an authority in making both market and policy analysis and the  World Energy Outlook is the tool, a very powerful one, for communicating the  challenges before us. The conclusions are again crystal clear; the delivered  message cannot be mistaken nor should be neglected.”
(Anna-Karin Hatt, Sweden Minister for  Information Technology and Energy, 09 December 2011)

“This  year’s edition of World Energy Outlook with great care focuses on a couple of  especially crucial energy challenges. Allow me to bring your attention to the  projections on natural gas production from unconventional sources. The  successful development of this sector appears very promising. The projections  from World Energy Outlook show that unconventional gas will reach a share of 20% of total gas production by 2035. Of course, one can expect that the rate of  growth in unconventional gas production will differ substantially between  various regions of the world, but I believe that Poland will be one of the  leaders as we have all the necessary predispositions.”
(Waldemar Pawlak, Poland Deputy Prime  Minister and Minister of Economy, 08 December 2011)

The World Energy Outlook is the most  respected annual review and outlook for the energy sector.  Few others are brave enough to make such an  assessment of where we are headed in terms of energy production and use, and  associated emissions of carbon dioxide.   It is the latter that has come to dominate the energy debate in the  West.  Less so in emerging and less  developed economies where the need to provide energy, especially electricity,  to all citizens is the number one priority.”
(Hartmuth Zeiss, President EURACOAL, 7 December 2011)

"The  WEO-2011 is a document that – as very few others – conjugates a rigorous  academic analysis of energy production and consumption trends together with  their implications for energy security all over the world."
(Jordy  Herrera, Mexico Secretary of Energy, 29 November 2011)

"The International Energy Agency’s World Energy Outlook report has once again provided valuable input to help decision makers around the world steer global development. In addition, the report highlights the role of Russian energy sector and the potential for improving energy efficiency in that area - a theme very relevant also for Fortum."
(Tapio Kuula, CEO Fortum, 25 November 2011)

“In a world in which energy resources are consumed by some without a moment’s thought and in which others lack access to energy, the well-founded analyses of the IEA and the annual World Energy Outlook are vital. It is important that the IEA persists in highlighting the consequences of the vast levels of consumption, which can be described as anything but sustainable. For without this information and the corresponding steps towards a coordinated change of course beyond national borders, these behaviour patterns will soon impact on the environment and our climate, as well as on the economy and society. "
(Doris Leuthard, Switzerland Federal Councillor and Minister of Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications, 16 November 2011)

"And still the World Energy Outlook is an important point of reference in discussions on these issues. The 2011 report is no exception; it confirms IEA as a leading source of insight on energy related matters, and we are grateful for their contribution – both in the public debate and here at the conference."
(Helge Lund,  CEO Statoil, 16 November 2011)

"The World Energy Outlook has become an important benchmark for the international energy and climate change debate. […] The work of the IEA is essential to create a comprehensive common understanding of the challenges we face. […] I would like to thank you, Dr. Birol, and the IEA for your important work. Persistent in your pursuit of knowledge you have unlocked new ways and inspired decision makers around the world."
(Martin Lidegaard, Denmark Minister for Climate, Energy and Building, 15 November 2011)

"We need to make some hard choices, but these must be based on facts and realities. Because, as the IEA says in the introduction to this year’s [World Energy] Outlook: If we don’t change direction soon, we’ll end up where we’re heading!"
(Ola Borten Moe, Norway Minister of Petroleum and Energy, 14 November 2011)

"A key battle in the campaign to build an effective system of global rules will shortly take place in Durban, where the UN climate negotiations reopen at the end of this month. The International Energy Agency has set the scene, with the timely warning in its new World Energy Outlook that we are way off track to avoid dangerous climate change, and that the window for effective action is closing fast."
(John Ashton, UK Foreign Office Special Representative for Climate Change 14 November 2011)

"The WEO provides us with the framework for our national efforts. The WEO helps us to assess our own goals and measures and to make sure that we remain grounded in terms of energy policy. […] We went down to our archives and found out that WEO 1996 estimated energy consumption of the year 2010 by a difference of only 2.5%. Such a precision is really impressive".
(Jochen Homann, Germany State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology, 11 November 2011)

“The  World Energy Outlook never fails to present us with an incisive analysis of  developments in the world of energy. And it always gives us food for thought.  [...] Of course, any policy needs a firm analytical basis. This new edition of  the World Energy Outlook will certainly help.”
(Maxime Verhagen, Netherlands Minister of Economic Affairs, Agriculture and Innovation, 10  November 2011)

“The World Energy  Outlook 2011 shows that the world is heading for a fossil fuels lock-in. This  is another urgent call to move to a low-carbon economy by using the right  incentives: carbon price, fossil fuels subsidies cuts, more renewables and  energy efficiency, and smarter ways of taxing.”
(Connie Hedegaard, European Union  Commissioner for Climate Action, 09 November 2011)

"This  new report is a final warning that we are perilously close to the point of no  return on climate change. […]  As the IEA  points out, we have little chance of this if we continue to lock-in fossil fuel sources of energy today. As important as the current economic crisis is, the  world needs to recognise that the huge scale of the risks we are facing from  climate change also need urgent action. And the window of opportunity for  action has almost closed."
(Bob Ward, Policy and Communications  Director Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment at  London School of Economics, 09 November 2011)

The IEA has been a leader in highlighting the link between fossil fuels and climate change. […] We would like to see it maintain this leadership, and focus more on a fully renewable energy future."
(Samantha Smith, Leader of World Wildlife Fund’s Global Climate and Energy Initiative, 09 November 2011)

Official  Statement from the World Energy Council:
“We  share [with the World Energy Outlook 2011] the concerns about the lack of  progress towards a global climate framework that provides clear long-term  signals for energy infrastructure investments. This view mirrors the findings  of our annual Issues Survey in highlighting this area as the biggest critical  uncertainty for the energy sector world-wide”
(Christoph Frei, Secretary General World  Energy Council, 09 November 2011)

"I believe that the World Energy Outlook 2011 provides another excellent insight of energy demand trends and greenhouse gas emissions trajectory in future. Congratulations on your publication of [this year’s] World Energy Outlook and a successful completion of the Energy Business Council as well."
(Oh Joon Kwon, Executive Vice President & Chief Technology Officer POSCO, 22 October 2011)

"Looking  to the future, the scale and breadth of the energy challenge ahead is enormous.  The forthcoming World Energy Outlook 2011 highlights this [...] The IEA  predicts global investment in the order of $40 trillion in US dollars will be  required from now until 2035 - two thirds in emerging economies [...] The WEO  also highlights that we are potentially entering a 'Golden Age of Gas' [...]  The WEO projects that the cost of bringing oil to the market will rise and our  dependency on oil will continue in most regions of the world, most notably in  Asia."
(Martin John Ferguson, Australia  Minister for Industry, Tourism and Resources, 19 October 2011)

"As we make decisions that affect our energy  future, we need the best information possible. In recent years, the IEA has  provided important analyses of clean energy in the World Energy Outlook."
(Steven Chu, United States Secretary of Energy, 18 October 2011)

"Allow  me to highlight the fundamental role played by the International Energy Agency  […] I would like to mention here one of its most important studies, namely the  World Energy Outlook.”
(Vincenzo  Scotti, Italy Secretary of State for  Foreign Affairs, 18 October 2011)

"The IEA is considered to be the organisation with the best energy data and the IEA’s annual World Energy Outlook is seen as the most important energy publication in the world."
(Waldemar Pawlak, Poland Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economy, 18 October 2011)

"I would like to thank you for the invitation from the International Energy Agency and recognize the important role of IEA to provide information and as a very important 'think tank' on energy issues and sustainability issues, as you are. And congratulations to Fatih Birol and the people from OECD and the IEA."
(José Sergio Gabrielli de Azevedo, CEO Petrobras, 18 October 2011)

"The  International Energy Agency plays an important and influential role in our  industry as a key participant in the ongoing debate over the future of the  global energy system. It provides companies like Shell a valuable forum to  discuss energy issues with policymakers from around the world. We also rely on  the IEA as a source of reliable information and analysis of global energy  trends, with reports such as the annual World Energy Outlook."
(Jorma Ollila, Chairman Royal Dutch Shell,  18 October 2011)

"Clearly, energy poverty is a threat to the achievement of all of the Millennium Development Goals.  It holds back economic growth and job creation.  The answer is to provide access to affordable energy for all.  According to the International Energy Agency [World Energy Outlook 2011], financing universal energy access would cost only about 3 per cent of total global investments in energy.”
(Ban Ki-moon, United Nations Secretary-General, 10 October 2011)

"In  recent years the International Energy Agency’s World Energy Outlook has rightly  repeated and underlined the need for an energy revolution – a revolution that  is not driven by concerns for climate change only, but equally much driven by  the need for security of long-term energy supplies at affordable and stable  prices […] The less we do now, the more expensive it will become later.  Limiting climate change will, in the words of World Energy Outlook 2010,  require 'a phenomenal push by governments around the world'."
(Lykke Friis, Denmark Minister for Climate  and Energy, Ministry of Power, 16 March 2011)

"The  findings of the WEO give us great insights on developments in the global energy  landscape".
(Shri P. Uma Shankar, India Secretary,  Ministry of Power, 20 January 2011)  

"The World Energy Outlook is the bible of the energy sector and as such for the European Commission, energy industry and others."
(Günther Oettinger, European Union Commissioner for Energy, 9 December 2010)

"We often use the World Energy Outlook in our policy deliberations."
(Martin John Ferguson, Australia Minister for Industry, Tourism and Resources, 25 November 2010)

"Today the IEA is one of the most important global organisations in the domain of energy, with a superb and comprehensive analytical background. The World Energy Outlook series is very popular and a highly recognized publication in the energy sector. This year's edition contains global energy projections to 2035 and in a detailed manner focuses on several crucial topics."
(Waldemar Pawlak, Poland Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economy, 22 November 2010)

"WEO 2010 is marvellous work. Unique analysis. Deserves its reputation as The Energy Sector Bible." 
(Hans Jorgen Koch, Denmark Deputy State Secretary of Danish Energy Agency, 19 November 2010)

"Once again the International Energy Agency publishes the reference for the energy sector: the World Energy Outlook. This edition will be quoted at many occasions over the next coming months in the energy, economic and environmental arenas, and it will be the starting point for debates, business plans and especially for the design of policies."
(Alicia Montalvo SantaMaria, Spain Director General of Climate Change, Ministry of Environment, 17 November 2010)

"This 2010 edition of the World Energy Outlook offers a very valuable perspective on how the global energy system can develop in the next quarter of the century."
(Antonio Hernández García, Spain Director General of Energy and Mining Policy, Ministry of Industry, Tourism and Trade, 17 November 2010)

"Discussion in the World Energy Outlook will help push forward climate change action. […] It covers all the hot topics in global energy […] and we are able to learn a lot from it as it is rich in information." 
(Han Wenke, China Director of Energy Research Institute, National Development and Reform Commission, 17 November 2010)

"This  year, the World Energy Outlook can be read as a warning to us all. Keeping in  mind the setbacks from Copenhagen; momentum seems to have been lost. In just  one year, the estimated global cost of achieving the two degrees target has  increased with a staggering one thousand billion dollars. Even worse; the  objective of limiting global temperature rise to only 2 degrees Celsius is now  seriously threatened. The IEA report shows that, with the pledges under the  Copenhagen Accord and pledges made in the G20 to remove subsidies on fossil  fuels, we are on the path to a 3.5 degrees increase. […] While  we are working towards a new global agreement, we need to enhance our  mitigation efforts. In this respect the IEA and the World Energy Outlook offer  important analyses and advice  for countries committed to limiting climate change.” 
(Terje Riis-Johansen, Norway Minister of Petroleum and Energy, 15 November 2010)

"The World Energy Outlook is an important point of reference in discussions on global energy markets, on energy security and also on climate change. And I think this year's report is no exception. The 2010 version consolidates IEA's leading position as a provider of insight to the energy communities and society at large. The report is important because it is so well documented and because it helps bring realism into the world's energy and climate discussions. And I believe that a fact based contribution like this is highly welcome to a debate sometimes dominated by visual thinking and a simplification of the challenges that we all have at hand. In this year's report the IEA stresses even stronger than before that the energy world faces great uncertainty. The energy future will be shaped by policies, but post-Copenhagen and pre-Cancun, there seems to be lack of confidence in the policy makers ability to deliver in a forceful way.”
(Helge Lund, CEO Statoil, 15 November 2010)

"The World Energy Outlook 2010 comes once again at the right time. We agree with the analysis in many ways […] We are sharing the same basic principles: clean, economically sound and secure energy supply [….] Energy efficiency is central both to the WEO and the German energy concept… I look forward to a continued and close collaboration with the IEA.”
(Rainer Brüderle, Germany Federal Minister for Economics and Technology, 11 November 2010)

"Thank you very much indeed Mr. Birol, thank you for your excellent presentation. It is challenging, it is demanding and I believe it gives us a brief overview of not only your predictions but also of the goals to be set by governments. […] It is also really challenging for me to make use of the World Energy Outlook for our own Energy Report, to be published next spring. Thank you very much indeed for your good work and for the excellent presentation you have given us.”
(Maxime Verhagen, Netherlands Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economic Affairs, Agriculture and Innovation, 10 November 2010)

"The IEA delivers a blunt message ahead of the Cancun climate conference that cleaning up our energy systems now is cheaper than delay. […] The Copenhagen commitments would soften predicted oil price increases, but the IEA still thinks prices could be some 40% higher by 2035. The age of cheap energy is over. […] We need to go further and faster in getting ourselves off the oil hook - and on to clean green growth. Greater energy independence - with more renewables, clean coal and nuclear - is the best way to protect our consumers and our country from energy shocks to come.”
(Chris Huhne, UK Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, 9 November 2010)

"While we don’t necessarily endorse all the detail, WWF is highly gratified with the IEA’s growing emphasis on energy efficiency and renewable energy to enhance effective carbon abatement regimes. [...] We are pleased that they highlight the need to overcome the approximate annual $US700 billion in fossil fuel subsidies. This money, about one per cent of global GDP, needs to go to support renewable and energy conservation and help the poor. […] We are also pleased with the strong push by the IEA that eradicating energy poverty for more than one third of the world’s population is a major development issue, with clean renewables best placed to deliver cost effective, equitable and sustainable solutions.”
(Stephan Singer, Director of Global Energy Policy, World Wildlife Fund, 9 November 2010)

“The World Energy Outlook's analysis shows very clearly the challenges that industry faces in delivering new energy infrastructure over the next twenty years.  The power sector has to be a major part of the solution in meeting growing power demand and reducing environmental impacts. We in Alstom have the technologies to help deliver the required transformation. But we also need to rely on the right framework for regulation and financing that will drive innovation in clean power. The World Energy Outlook makes it very clear: if we do not act now, it will delay the change for yet another generation's investment decisions”
(Patrick Kron, CEO Alstom, 7 January 2010)

"The WEO-2009 presents the most up to date, comprehensive analysis of how the energy sector can deliver on a climate change deal in Copenhagen.”          
(Yvo de Boer, Executive Secretary UNFCCC, 15 October 2009)

"The World Energy Outlook scenario being presented today shows how global emissions can be controlled quickly and effectively.  This requires the participation of all industrialized countries and key emerging economies. We need a low carbon revolution involving all countries as comprehensively as possible. No country or country grouping can solve this challenge alone [...] We can see that the low emissions path outlined by the WEO creates a long lasting and strong demand for technology that mitigates climate change."
(Matti Taneli Vanhanen, Finland Prime Minister, 25 November 2009)     

"The WEO is an indispensable instrument for energy policy makers, and much of its value lies in the independent nature of its analysis. The findings of the report are a welcome contribution as we prepare to push for an ambitious global climate agreement in Copenhagen and as we continue to develop and implement our energy policy"         
(Andris Piebalgs, EU Energy Commissioner, 13 November 2009)

“The World Energy Outlook's analysis shows very clearly the challenges that industry faces in delivering new energy infrastructure over the next twenty years.  The power sector has to be a major part of the solution in meeting growing power demand and reducing environmental impacts. We in Alstom have the technologies to help deliver the required transformation. But we also need to rely on the right framework for regulation and financing that will drive innovation in clean power. The World Energy Outlook makes it very clear: if we do not act now, it will delay the change for yet another generation's investment decisions” ”
(Patrick Kron, CEO Alstom, 7 January 2010)    

"I recently had the privilege of attending a presentation of the World Energy Outlook and was struck by the quality of its analysis of the supply challenges to simply keep the world's current oil use flat. Adding the equivalent of four new Saudi Arabia's over the next 21 years would be a challenge of epoch importance and adding another two to supply a modest increase in the world's almost unquenchable need for more oil use coming from China, India and Middle East is daunting. This message from the IEA comes from the work done in 2008 to examine the best data available from the largest producing Giant and Super Giant oil fields. The leadership team at the IEA need high praise for taking such a serious and detailed look into field by field data, as well as discussing its implications in the World Energy Outlook"
(Matthew Simmons, Chairman Simmons & Company International, 27 November 2009)

"…..'there is only one world, there is only one road, it is the 450 (WEO 2009 Scenario) road."
(Hu Angang, Member of the Committee for China’s 11th Five-Years Plan, 23 November 2009)

"Our energy supply and our climate have come into conflict. We must resolve this: a challenge that is both massive and global. We must act now and stay focused for decades to come. The World Energy Outlook 2009 presents a firm knowledge base for the global collaboration that is needed to reach a common goal,  i.e. keeping global warming below 2 degrees Celsius." 
 (Lars G Josefsson, President and CEO, Vattenfall AB, 26 November 2009)     

"This year more than ever, the WEO-2009 can serve as an effective quantitative input into the climate change negotiations in Copenhagen, by providing updated scenarios that detail how the energy sector can contribute to limit the global temperature increase within 2°C. I especially share the view of the WEO 2009 on the need of a global agreement to foster a comprehensive and rapid low-carbon transition and on the fundamental role of the carbon market and offset mechanisms." 
(Fulvio Conti, CEO and General Manager Enel, 3 December 2009)     

"When he (Dr. Birol) says things like, 'the world would need to find the equivalent of four times the crude oil reserves now held by Saudi Arabia to maintain current production plus six Saudi Arabias if it is to keep up with the expected increase in demand between now and 2030,' the world sits up and takes notice."                   
(T. Boone Pickens, American financier and Chairman and CEO of BP Capital, 13, November 2009)

"The World Energy Outlook is the most detailed and relevant publication on the energy sector and it clearly shows the interdependence between energy, climate protection and economic development."
(Waldemar Pawlak, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economy of Poland, 30 November 2009)     

"This year’s World Energy Outlook visualises how critical the upcoming United Nations Climate Change Conference in Copenhagen will be: If no agreement is reached in December, IEAs analysis estimates that the cost for the world will be enormous: to quote directly from the World Energy Outlook: it will cost us 500 billions US Dollar – a year"         
(Terje Riis-Johansen,  Norway Minister of Petroleum and Energy, 17 November 2009)

"..An outstanding publication"
(Maria van der Hoeven, Dutch Minister of Economic Affairs, 12 November 2009)

"As the World Energy Outlook’s analysis show, fossil fuels will be critical for the world energy supplies in the foreseeable future, regardless of scenario...crucial finding is to have a high enough carbon dioxide price to give the right signals to the energy sector."      
(Helge Lund, Chief Executive Officer, Statoil, 17 November 2009)

"The WEO 2009 serves as extremely useful input to the upcoming COP meeting in Copenhagen, because it sets out a means to transform the energy sector"      
(Connie Hedegaard, Minister of Climate and Energy of Denmark, 11 November 2009)

"The World Energy Outlook 2009 points out the huge challenges both technical and financial we are facing in order to achieve a lower carbon industry and the necessary investments which have to be undertaken today. The major risk is that the present economic conditions are not favourable for these investments. More than ever we need a stable and foreseeable energy policy framework in order, for the industry, to make the required investments. It is in my view the most important challenge."     
(Jean-François Cirelli, Vice-Chairman, Chief Operating Officer of GDF SUEZ, 19 November 2009)

"We are in the final rush to Copenhagen, we all realise that this is a very very important moment and I tend to think that this is probably the most or one of the two or three most important international negotiations of the post-war period. This period must be absolutely a success. The World Energy Outlook 2009 in this respect is a very interesting and very important contribution. You all know that this is kind of a bible in the energy community around the world. It is read and commented very carefully. And this is a very interesting contribution, not only because it gives us a very precise and clear overview of the market evolution and evolution of the demand, but also of the general economic context.”
(Paul Magnette, Belgian Minister of Climate and Energy, 26 November 2009)           

"In the run-up to Copenhagen, the World Energy Outlook 2009 is an invaluable resource. It provides insights on the challenges facing the energy sector in the aftermath of the economic crisis, along with a striking reappraisal of gas reserves and new perspectives on energy security risks. It is a compass that can help guide us on the path towards a decarbonised economy, outlining in particular the key role of the electricity industry."
(Jean-Paul Bouttes Executive Vice President, Corporate Strategy, Prospective and International Affairs, EDF, 30 November 2009)