Policy status:In Force
Date Effective:1999
Policy Type:Information and Education>Information provision, Policy Support, Policy Support>Strategic planning
Policy Target:Industry, Energy Sector, Buildings, Appliances, Commercial services/Tertiary, Carbon Capture Storage, Resilience / Adaptation, Framework/ Multi-sectoral Policy
Agency:Ministry of Power, Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE)

The Ministry of Power instituted National Energy Conservation Awards, coordinated by the Bureau of Energy Efficiency, to recognize sectors that have made special efforts to reduce energy consumption and improve energy efficiency.

These sectors include:

Aviation Sector 
Thermal Power Stations
Electricity Distribution Companies 
Office & BPO Buildings
Universities and Engineering Institution Buildings
Hotels & Hospitals Building
Shopping Mall 
Railway Stations 
Railway Workshops 
Zonal Railways 
State Road Transport Corporation & Undertakings 
Ordnance Factory 
SDA (State Designated Agencies) 
State PWD and CPWD 
Manufacturers of BEE Star Labeled Equipments/ Appliances
Best Energy Auditor and Energy Auditing Agencies 
Financial Institutes
Metro Railways 

As well as business models:

Large Industries
MSME and organizations registered under societies Act
Municipalities/DISCOMS (electricity distributors)/Any other govt. org
Metro Stations (Elevated, At-grade)
Metro Stations (Under Ground)

In the first five years, the participating industrial units collectively saved 2397 million units of electrical energy; 9067 kilo litre of furnace oil; 2.76 Mt of coal and 11,585 million cubic metre of gas per year, resulting in substantial reduction in greenhouse gas emissions. From 1999 to 2005, 865 MW of avoided capacity was achieved, and from1999 to 2007: 7,446 MkW hours were saved, (1,420 MW avoided capacity, Furnace oil: 16.397 million KL, Coal: 51.61 million metric tonnes, Gas: 1 91 979 million cubic meters)

Each sector has criteria that varies for each award. For example the industry sector includes the following language:

"First and second prizes are proposed to be given in each sub-sector in the form of a Silver Plaque with appropriate citation on such awards .The third prize will be in the form of “Certificate of Merit”. The performance of units would be judged through the questionnaire (format enclosed) which would be evaluated by an Award Committee.An industrial unit getting the First Position for the third year in a row will be eligible for a "Top Rank Award" for that year. The industrial unit eligible for Top Rank Award for 3rd year in a row would be given the highest prize, namely "Excellence Award" (instead of Top Rank Award) in recognition of its consistent performance."

Any entity can participate and apply for the award. 

Last modified: Tue, 30 May 2017 16:39:52 CEST