For_Delegates IEA Ministerial Meeting 2013

On 19th-20st November, Ministers from all 28 IEA member countries and nine partner countries (Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Russia, the Republic of South Africa plus two candidate countries for accession, Chile and Estonia) and the EU were invited to attend the 2013 IEA Meeting of the Governing Board at Ministerial Level in Paris.  These 37 countries collectively represent more than two-thirds of the world’s energy production and more than three-quarters of global demand.  They were joined by more than 30 CEOs from the IEA Energy Business Council, representing top companies active in energy or closely related fields, to share views on the changing energy map and consider policy solutions to related challenges.  Turkey’s Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, Hon. Taner Yildiz, chaired the meeting in Paris.  This Ministerial kicked off the beginning of the IEA’s 40th anniversary celebration.

The meeting is taking place at the OECD Conference Centre in Paris, France.