<% Session("ssi_menu_session")="events" %>

Home > News + Events > IEA workshops

The papers in these workshops represent the personal views of the individual authors and do not necessarily represent the views of their companies, organisations or the IEA.

<% If Not Recordset2.EOF Or Not Recordset2.BOF Then %> <% End If ' end Not Recordset2.EOF Or NOT Recordset2.BOF %> <% If Not Recordset5.EOF Or Not Recordset5.BOF Then %> <% End If ' end Not Recordset5.EOF Or NOT Recordset5.BOF %> <% If Not Recordset6.EOF Or Not Recordset6.BOF Then %> <% End If ' end Not Recordset6.EOF Or NOT Recordset6.BOF %> <% If Not Recordset4.EOF Or Not Recordset4.BOF Then %> <% End If ' end Not Recordset4.EOF Or NOT Recordset4.BOF %> <% If Not Recordset7.EOF Or Not Recordset7.BOF Then %> <% End If ' end Not Recordset7.EOF Or NOT Recordset7.BOF %> <% If Not Recordset3.EOF Or Not Recordset3.BOF Then %> <% End If ' end Not Recordset3.EOF Or NOT Recordset3.BOF %>
Special Session on CO2 Cost Containment Mechanisms
Location and date(s) of workshop:
IEA, Paris: 22-23 September 2008
Organiser(s): IEA / IETA / EPRI


This IEA-IETA-EPRI special side event on CO2 cost containment will examine key issues surrounding the design and implementation of potential measures to control the expected future cost and volatility of greenhouse gas (GHG) emission allowances and offsets as part of the implementation of existing and potential GHG emissions cap and trade programs. Potential mechanisms to be discussed include CO2 price caps and floors, inter-temporal banking and borrowing of emissions allowances, central-bank style regulation and other policies. Discussants will explore the economic rationale for these policy approaches and their consequences for the evolution of the carbon market and climate mitigation.

Links to relevant documents:

Proceedings: Session 1 – Policy Perspective

Chair: Henry Derwent (IETA)

Adam Diamant (EPRI)
Cédric Philibert (IEA)

Peter Zapfel (DG Environment, European Commission)
Terry Dinan (Congressional Budget Office)
Maurits Blanson Henkemans (Ministry of Economic Affairs, Netherlands)

Session 2 – Market Perspective

Chair: Adam Diamant (EPRI)

Fabien Roques (CERA)
Garth Edward (Citigroup)

Guy Turner (New Carbon Finance)
Claude Nahon (EDF)
Bruce Braine (American Electric Power)
Russel Mills (Dow Chemical)

Rick Bradley, Head Energy Efficiency and Environment Division, LTO (IEA)
Tom Wilson, Senior Program Manager, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)
Henry Derwent, Chief Executive Officer, International Emissions Trading Association (IETA)  

© International Energy Agency 2008


<% Recordset2.Close() Set Recordset2 = Nothing %> <% Recordset3.Close() Set Recordset3 = Nothing %> <% Recordset4.Close() Set Recordset4 = Nothing %> <% Recordset5.Close() Set Recordset5 = Nothing %> <% Recordset6.Close() Set Recordset6 = Nothing %> <% Recordset7.Close() Set Recordset7 = Nothing %>