energy Russia energy china flag

Meeting of the IEA Energy Business Council and Joint Session with the IEA Governing Board – 12-13 June 2012

The seventh meeting of the IEA Energy Business Council (EBC) was held on 12-13 June 2012 and gathered 32 high-level representatives of the energy industry organisations.

Ms. Maria van der Hoeven, IEA Executive Director, welcomed all participants and presented the scope of the meeting’s agenda, while Ms. Marie-Pierre Fauconnier, IEA Governing Board Chair, applauded the contribution of the EBC to IEA work. Ambassador Richard Jones, IEA Deputy Executive Director, presented main IEA initiatives that contribute to reinforcement of the co-operation with emerging economies. The discussions, chaired by Dr. Fatih Birol, focused on developments in oil markets, the WEO 2012 special report: “Golden Rules for a Golden Age of Gas”, and WEO 2012 analysis of current trends in renewable energy markets.

The meeting was followed by an evening reception hosted by H.E. Amb. Poul Erik Dam Kristensen, Permanent Representative of Denmark to the OECD.

On the second day of the meeting, the EBC members took part in a joint session with the IEA Governing Board. A report on the main outcomes of the EBC meeting was presented to the IEA Governing Board by Ms. Carmen Becerril, Chairman of Acciona Energia, and Mr. Doug MacKay, Vice President of Shell.

Participants of the IEA EBC meeting on 12-13 June 2012 included:

Acciona Energia, Alstom Power, Angloamerican, CEEP, Edison, EDF, Enel SpA, Eni, Gazprom Export,  GDF Suez, HSBC, Iberdrola Engineering, ING Bank, Lafarge, Lotos Group, Michelin, Mitsubishi, Nippon Steel, Novozymes, Peabody Energy, Repsol, RWE AG, Sabic, Schlumberger, Schneider Electric, Sharp, Shell International Ltd, Siemens AG, Toshiba,  Vattenfall,  Vestas, and Westinghouse.


See EBC meeting agenda - 12-13 June 2012