Member countries

The IEA is made up of 29 member countries. Before becoming a member country of the IEA, a candidate country must demonstrate that it has:

  • as a net oil importer, reserves of crude oil and/or product equivalent to 90 days of the prior year’s average net oil imports to which the government (even if it does not own those stocks directly) has immediate access should the Co-ordinated Emergency Response Measures (CERM) – which provide a rapid and flexible system of response to actual or imminent oil supply disruptions – be activated
  • a demand restraint programme for reducing national oil consumption by up to 10%
  • legislation and organisation necessary to operate, on a national basis, the CERM and
  • legislation and measures in place to ensure that all oil companies operating  under its jurisdiction report information as is necessary

There is a process to ascertain whether or not the potential member country can meet these requirements, during which the IEA Secretariat advises and works with the candidate country. The final decision rests with the Governing Board.  

To be a member country of the IEA, a country must also be a member country of the OECD.  However, membership in the OECD does not automatically result in membership in the IEA: Chile, Iceland, Israel, LatviaMexico and Slovenia are OECD member countries but at present do not belong to the IEA; Chile and Mexico are currently candidate countries for IEA membership. 

For the latest IEA review of a member country's energy policies, see the individual country's listing in the adjacent list. See also:  World Energy Statistics 2017, World Energy Balances 2017, World Energy Statistics and Balances 2017 and Key World Energy Statistics.

The European Union also participates in the work of the IEA. ‌See Energy Policies of IEA Countries: European Union – 2014. See also Europe's Energy Portal.‌

To read about IEA engagement with non-member countries, click here


Country Desk Officers

Australia, Canada, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand, Turkey, United Kingdom

+(33-1) 40 57 67 63

Austria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Switzerland, United States

+(33-1) 40 57 66 51

Belgium, Denmark, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden

+(33-1) 40 57 67 59