energy Russia energy china flag

For_Policymakers for Governments

Executive office

Fatih Birol took over as Executive Director of the IEA on 1 September 2015.  



Ministerial Meetings

Once every two years, the Governing Board – which is made up of one or more government representative(s), usually at the level of director general and sometimes at the level of minister, from each IEA member country – convenes at ministerial level.

Organisation and structure

The International Energy Agency (IEA) is an autonomous organisation that works to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for its 29 member countries and beyond.

Membership of the IEA

The IEA is made up of 29 member countries. Before becoming a Member country of the IEA, a candidate country must fulfill certain requirements.