In addition to the Governing Board, the IEA has several Standing Groups and Committees, made up of member country government officials, which meet several times a year:

  • Standing Group on Emergency Questions (SEQ) is responsible for all aspects of IEA oil emergency preparedness and collective response to supply disruptions;
  • Standing Group on the Oil Market (SOM) monitors and analyses short- and medium-term developments in the international oil market to help IEA member countries react promptly and effectively to changes in market conditions.
  • Standing Group on Long-Term Co-operation (SLT) encourages co-operation among IEA member countries to ensure collective energy security, improve the economic efficiency of their energy sector and promote the environmental protection in provision of energy services. The SLT has also established a working party, the Energy Efficiency Working Party (EEWP).
  • Standing Group on Global Energy Dialogue (SGD) is responsible for work with countries and regions outside of the IEA membership, including China and India. Many SGD projects draw upon both regional and sectoral expertise and are carried out jointly with other IEA divisions.
  • Committee on Energy Research and Technology (CERT) co-ordinates and promotes the development, demonstration and deployment of technologies to meet challenges in the energy sector.  It is supported in carrying out its mandate by the bodies of the IEA energy technology network: four sector-specific working parties, ad-hoc and experts’ groups and a number of IEA Technology Collaboration Programmes (TCPs).
  • Committee on Budget and Expenditure (CBE) advises the Governing Board on resource management and administration of the IEA. In particular, it advises the Governing Board on the Annual and other budget proposals.  
  • A range of advisory bodies, some of which include private-sector and IEA non-member country representatives, the legal bases for which vary.