energy Russia energy china flag

G20 Banner G20

The IEA and the Group of 20 (G20)

Since the Pittsburgh Leaders' Summit in 2009, the IEA has actively supported G20 deliberations on energy, providing inputs to G20 Leaders’ Summits, Finance Ministers, Sherpa meetings, and more recently, meetings of the G20 Energy Sustainability Working Group, established in 2013.  

Overview of IEA Contributions to the G20 since 2009

Phaseout of Inefficient Fossil Fuel Subsidies

Data and Transparency

Oil Price Formation and Price Reporting Agencies

Gas and Coal Markets

IEA Contributions to 2014 G20

Participation in the ESWG workshop and meeting, Melbourne, Australia, 10-13 February 2014

  • Energy governance (speech and slides)
  • Gas security (presentation)
  • Energy efficiency (presentation)
  • Interventions on a range of other topics such as energy investment needs and market transparency

What is the G20?

The G20 is a global forum of major economies (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, the European Union, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America) and the European Union. It was started as a meeting of Finance Ministers’ in 1999 but was later elevated to a Leader’s meeting at the Washington Summit in 2008. The G20 discusses and responds to critical issues facing the global economy, including energy. It has no permanent secretariat, rather a yearly rotating presidency among its members.

The Energy Profile of the G20

The combined energy demand of the nineteen G20 countries (i.e. excluding the European Union) represents over 70% of global energy demand. 

Global Energy Demand 2011


Global Energy Demand 2011 - G20 and Energy


(Source: IEA energy database)