Working together to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy

energy Russia energy china flag

FAQs: Executive management

Who is the Executive Director of the IEA?

Maria van der Hoeven of the Netherlands.

What is the role of the Executive Director?

The Executive Director is the head of the International Energy Agency. This role has broad political, analytical and operational responsibilities. More information.

How long does the Executive Director serve?

Based on a decision by the Governing Board, the Executive Director may serve a maximum of two terms of four years each. The Governing Board also oversees the appointment of the Executive Director.

How many IEA Executive Directors have there been? Who are they?

Including the current Executive Director, Maria van der Hoeven, there have been six. Previous Executive Directors are: Ulf Lantzke of Germany (1975-1984); Helga Steeg of Germany (1984-1994); Robert Priddle of the United Kingdom (1994-2003); Claude Mandil of France (2003-2007); and Nobuo Tanaka of Japan (2007-2011).

What is the role of the Deputy Executive Director?

Aside from assuming the duties of the Executive Director in times of absence, the Deputy is another public spokesperson for the work and mission of the Agency and plays a prominent role in the day-to-day management of the IEA.