energy Russia energy china flag

about us final banner

What we do

The IEA is an autonomous organisation which works to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for its 29 member countries and beyond. The IEA has four main areas of focus: energy security, economic development, environmental awareness and engagement worldwide.


The IEA was founded in 1974 to help countries co-ordinate a collective response to major disruptions in the supply of oil. While this remains a key aspect of its work, the IEA has evolved and expanded. It is at the heart of global dialogue on energy, providing authoritative statistics and analysis. 

Member countries

The IEA is made up of 29 member countries.

Executive office

The Executive office is made up of the Executive Director, the Deputy Executive Director and their respective advisors and support staff.


The IEA has a staff of 260 enthusiastic professionals (energy analysts, modellers, data managers/statisticians, technicians, secretaries and support staff) working together on global energy challenges.

Global engagement

Since the 1980s, the IEA has been building good working relationships with countries beyond its membership, in particular major energy consuming, producing and transit countries.

Affiliated groups

The IEA works with a broad range of groups, committees and advisory bodies, some of which include representatives from the private sector and IEA non-member countries, and for which the legal bases vary.

Standing Groups and Committees

In addition to the Governing Board, the IEA has several Standing Groups and Committees, made up of member country government officials, which meet several times a year.